Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-11-2004, 03:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Qualitypure (same as Kent) RO unit

I've got a QP (QualityPure) unit, which is the same as the Kent full-size 24gal/day RO unit.

In the instructions, it says I have to store the membrane (the top white canister) submerged in water while it's not in use, and was just wondering how important the quality of water to store it in is?

If I store it in my garage, which I'm planning to do, the water will be far from fresh a week or two later when I go to use my RO unit again. Or does it not really matter, as long as it's just wet?

And on the same note, how long can mixed RO/saltwater be stored for in a plastic container, with a loose lid on, ready for water changes? And how about normal RO water (for top-ups) in a plastic bottle?

Cheers!

Mark
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 07:53 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
In the instructions, it says I have to store the membrane (the top white canister) submerged in water while it's not in use, and was just wondering how important the quality of water to store it in is?
Just leave it in the unit, there are check valves to keep water in the RO unit at all times, it will be fine.

Quote:
And on the same note, how long can mixed RO/saltwater be stored for in a plastic container, with a loose lid on, ready for water changes? And how about normal RO water (for top-ups) in a plastic bottle?
Depends on the conditions, if the water is sealed, it should be fine indefinitely, if it just has a loose lid, it will pick up dust and possibly fumes or toxins from the area. Water is a sponge and picks up lots of airborne stuff.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 09:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
OK, so I dont need to keep the membrane housing stored in water when it's not being used? That's what the instructions say that's all...

I plan to store mixed saltwater for up to two weeks, for my waterchanges. It will have a loose lid, but be in a clean, dry room.

Will this be ok?

Thanks for your help
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 09:39 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
OK, so I dont need to keep the membrane housing stored in water when it's not being used? That's what the instructions say that's all...
That is not what I said You MUST keep the membrane wet, if it drys, it's ruined. The RO membran housing should have check valves from the lines, to prevent water from leaving the membrane housing without being under pressure, therefore, if you leave the unit off and leave the membrane in the housing...it is being stored in water. Wouldn't hurt to keep the ends of the lines above the membrane housing either, but IME, it's not necessary.

Quote:
I plan to store mixed saltwater for up to two weeks, for my waterchanges. It will have a loose lid, but be in a clean, dry room.

Will this be ok?
Provided there are not any airborne contaminants around the storage container...should be fine. DO NOT keep the water aerated, leave it without aeration and aerate a day or two before use, this will help prevent introduction to the water of contaminants.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 10:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
OK, I'll never be taking the membrane out of the housing (unless changing it when it's run out), so therefore I don't need to store the membrane housing in a bucket (as I am doing now), because there's water actually inside the housing all the time anyway, so it can be kept dry on the outside?

Is that definite? :p

Thanks.
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 10:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Not sure about the check valves by the way!
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2004, 10:31 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
My unit has the checkvalves, and I have used units in the past and have never removed the membrane or the membrane housing and stored them in a bucket of water, and water quality has not suffered. They mention this, incase you need to break down the unit, or the membrane housing were to crack (from being dropped) the membrane should be stored moist, I would not put it in a bucket of water, simply seal it in a zip lock baggie and add some water as needed to keep it moist.

Even without checkvalves, if you keep the output of the unit above the membrane housing while being stored...it will be fine.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 02:30 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
OK, thanks.

So, I take the membrane housing off the top of the other two canisters, and make sure all piping is above the membrane housing, so water can't drip out of it?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 02:52 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Your making it harder than it has to be. Do not remove anything, simply raise the ends of the lines and put them above the RO unit, you do not need to remove anything, simply hang them higher than the unit.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2004, 02:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
lol, got it.

Thanks for being patient :p

Just want to make sure I don't break my £200 unit :p
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kent RO dlabradod General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-21-2008 01:49 PM
Brightwell > Kent ?? Bonez Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-17-2008 09:11 PM
Kent Deion200-r mrcrazypants05 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-20-2006 07:40 PM
Any oppinions about Kent R/O Right? tsaraber General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-07-2004 06:25 PM
kent ro/di ? scuba_steve Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 02-21-2004 10:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.