Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-24-2004, 09:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
Quarantine

From now on I'll QT any new fish before introducing into my display tank. I have read many articles on the subject, but they vary from leaving the fish in a QT with water parameters close to the display tank to applying copper in the QT for preventive measure.

Can someone clarify what is the best way to QT? Should I add cupramine in my QT as a preventive measure?
__________________

__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 09:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 861
Send a message via MSN to Brisc0
Don't add copper until you have a reason IMO. I have some fish in my QT at the moment that I think possibly have ich, but until I see more evidence than one little white spec on one fin I am not going to stress them out with copper.
__________________

__________________
Here's to swimmin with bowlegged women.

-105G SPS Reef with 30G Sump/Fuge Combo
-30G LTAnemonarium with mated porcelain crabs, 10 sexy shrimp, and 2 pink skunks all tied into the other 135G in my system.
Brisc0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 09:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,134
Not to mention...some fish cant handle copper. A scaleless fish in copper wont do well.
__________________
http://www.reef-aquarium.net

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 10:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London UK
Posts: 362
I am more interested in QT new fish before introducing them to the display tank. So I guess I should just QT any new fish in similar water parameters as the display tank for 3 weeks. And if there is no syptom of any diesease then I can introduce them into the display tank. Otherwise, I'll apply the necessary medication, right?
__________________
kwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 10:59 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
The only prophylactic measure I would take would be to treat all new fish with hyposalinity (not too stressful and will remove any ick before they get to the main tank) and for new wild caught clowns I would treat with formalin.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine MarkW19 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 03-03-2005 11:07 AM
Quarantine melissfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 11-09-2004 11:01 PM
Quarantine johnkristie Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 10 06-23-2004 05:51 PM
quarantine ? packfan2204 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 10 01-16-2004 10:46 AM
Quarantine reefrunner69 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 05-22-2002 12:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.