Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-10-2013, 09:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Chromediggity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Smyrna, GA (Atlanta)
Posts: 54
Quarantine Tank - General Discussion

Just wanted to start a general discussion about a quarantine tank and the details. What does one put in it, equipment and stock? Where do you have yours? Obviously it's not where your show tank is but should I just keep it in a closet? Any input or random advice is appreciated. I've never had one up and running and I probably should have.
__________________

__________________
Chromediggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
My QT tank sits in my shed with the filter , pump heater and light. The bio pad from the filter sits in my sump keeping the bacteria alive. Only other thing are some PVc pipe bits for hidey holes. I should keep those in the sump too, but I don't.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Chromediggity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Smyrna, GA (Atlanta)
Posts: 54
Shed means no AC/Heat? Are you in Florida or Minnesota?
__________________
Chromediggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Ha. I'm in Canada.

I only set it up when I need it in the wife's craft room. Then when I'm done I clean everything really well and put it away. I even rinse and clean put the bio pad because I don't want any copper getting into my sump when I put it back for reactivating.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
I have my quarantine tank next to my show tank. Although everyone says you don't need to add live sand and rocks I have them anyway to supplement my hanging filter. Fish fells at home with it and yes I add the PVC pipe too. I still have plans to add more fish in main tank and right now my Blue Yellow Tail Tang is recovering with a daily dose of coppersafe treatment for 2 weeks. He will be back to real home for may be another week. You will never know when any of your fish gets sick. The emergency room is always ready for them.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
discus, quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.