Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2004, 10:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: tulsa, ok
Posts: 188
Send a message via AIM to packfan2204
question about substrate

ok, i've got about two inches of aragonite with about 1/2 inch of crushed coral on top. Do u think it would be easier to try to remove the cc from the top, then add some more sand, or easier just to remove it all from one side, replace with new sand, then do the other side in a couple of weeks?
__________________

__________________
55 reef-260w PC -purple firefish -maroon clown -lubbocks fairy wrasse - hydnophora -polyps, more LPS on the way

July 25, 2005-ship date, can't wait!!!
packfan2204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 11:03 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Should be pretty easy to use a 1" diameter hose and just syphon off the top layer of CC. You can then use a plastic cup or similar and gentley lay the new sand atop the old. Just be careful not to add more than a ¬Ĺ" of new sand at once. Leave it a few days between additions.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 11:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin Mn
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to Dewey
Ive added sand twice to my system.Once in main tank about 15 pounds. And when i added refugium. Both times i did this i ended up with a cyno out break.Is this cause by adding the sand or just a freak thing?


Dewey
__________________
Thanks Dewey
Dewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 12:33 PM   #4
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewey
Both times i did this i ended up with a cyno out break.Is this cause by adding the sand or just a freak thing?
Most likely a combination of phosphates introduced with the sand and reduced aerobic bacteria processing when the new sand covered the old. The same will generally happen whenever you fuss with the biological filtration but PO4 will be the main culprit.

As long as PO4 is not being continually re-introduced, the problem should be short lived.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substrate Question ffmd212 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-29-2009 06:17 PM
Substrate Question Mlrust1816 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-19-2006 12:24 PM
Substrate question Ariamus Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 09-24-2005 10:14 PM
Substrate Question allyjoe Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-28-2005 06:43 PM
Substrate question prisoner1572 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-04-2004 05:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.