question on filtration

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

paul baxter

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there
I am brand new to marine fish keeping.I have a trigon 190 tank I have fish only in at the moment x2 clowns ,oriole angel and a small blue fish with a yellow fin that I inherted with the tank.I intend to getting manderinfish and a cleaner shrimp an arrow crab and a small star fish.and some easyer to keep soft corals.At the moment I have added an under gravel filter with two power heads and fine sand filter ,Also a 303 fluval canister filter with x2 baskets of ceramics and a new sponge in the last basket and last of all i have a stantard juwel filter system.My question to anybody that can help is have i got enough flitration and has it got the correct filters in ie sponges ect.And the last question is how often do you think I should change my filters.
Regads paul baxter a very novis marine fish keeper

I don't know much about mechanical filtration. I just use live rock and ph's with a skimmer. You didn't mention rather you had any live rock in the tank and I just wanted to let you know, that without alot of LR, a mandarin will not to well. It also needs a very mature system with a large pod population. Also, the oriole angel (bi-colored angel) will need to be watched if you add corals. It may nip your soft corals.

Hi Paul...Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
First off, is this 190gal or 190L? Can you explain more about your set-up? Type of filtration, amount of LR, substrate, lighting...