question on metal Halide??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sirfishmaster

Aquarium Advice Freak
are all metal halides ok for saltwater reefs?
i am asking because my work uses metal halide for warehouse lighting, and i could get a good deal on them (free), but dont want to if they are different, i cant seem to find anything online that tells me different

whats the advice of you great info people?

doug

I am no lighting expert, but I do believe tha the spectrum of lighting produced by the ones at your work, and the ones used for reefs, are totally different. Sorry. :wink:

Yep...same with the ones at HD. You can get M/H lights at HD, but the spectrum is so far off that you wouldnt like the way they look. Reef lights show the K rating which tells you what color the light is.

Sunlight is 5,500k (very yellow)..This will give you the best growth. The larger the number, the blue'r the light. A 20k bulb will have a great color, but no growth. :wink:

SquishyFish wrote:

A 20k bulb will have a great color, but no growth.

I wouldn't go that far. In fact, some people in the community are now only recommending 20k MH bulbs coupled with 03 fluorescents as that provides "better" growth that other spectrums or other bulb combinations.

I used to run a 20K bulb from Hamilton as well with my two 55w 03 PC's. Had good growth on just about everything. Recently I switched to a Coral Vue 14K and it is doing fine as well.

sirfishmaster wrote :
what about just using the fixture, and purchasing the bulb?

No problem with that, however, you may not be able to find one that will fit on or over your tank like you would like it to so you will probably have to do some modifications. If they had some pendant fixtures, that would be fine, but I have never seen those at HD.