Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-28-2004, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
R/O membrane.

Hey i thought you were supposed to change your membrane every year. Is this not the case? I know you change all the other filters every year but the guy at filter direct is telling me every two years. Is this normal or not.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 05:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
2-3 years depending on your water. Heck I wish I could get a year out of my other filters. Changing them every few months...
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 05:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Mine says 2-3 years as well. Expensive little buger too!

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 06:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
I know waht they say. Well lately I have been experiencing brown alge wich is obviously a sign of po4. now i have not replaced any cartridges in the ro at all and i have had it a year. I know they need to be changed just wondering if it is going to be pointless for me to change all those and nothing else.
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 07:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
I would just change the other filters and leave the membrane intact. If it still produces algae, then you can change it out. That is the most expensive part on the RO system, at least on mine.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 07:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
yeah it is like 58 dollars. I am pretty sure that is where my algea bloom came from
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 09:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
IMO running the other filters for a year is way too long. I would think like carbon in your tank over time it will leach the bad stuff back into the water.
Do you have a TDS meter? This should tell you if the ro/di is working right.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 10:25 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
i have one on the way. I ordered it today and i think i will be ordering the filters sometime next week. it is 60 including shipping for all the filters exept membrane
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 10:41 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I thought PO4 was removed in the DI filter?
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2004, 06:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
i think it is that is why i am also replacing the DI filter. I am ordering everything except the membrane
__________________

__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO membrane ccCapt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 11-12-2008 04:26 PM
RO membrane worn out? Scoot General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 03-09-2008 04:21 PM
Membrane on Driftwood fishfairy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-30-2006 04:19 PM
filmtech membrane sango General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-23-2006 11:08 AM
RO membrane question colorblindpicas Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-26-2003 05:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.