Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-12-2011, 09:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nick862's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: england
Posts: 147
R/o results?

Just bought a 4 stage r/o setup and a Tds meter, what readings will be safe for use? Iv been told it should be below 20 ppm but Iv flushed the filters for 3 hours and I'm getting readings of 16 ppm but creeps up to 50 ppm after a few hours of use, maybe more flushing or
__________________

__________________
Nick862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nick862's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: england
Posts: 147
Cheers
__________________

__________________
Nick862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 09:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
I'm fairly sure it should be reading 0ppm, but I may be wrong.

I'm trying to help a bit and bump it as well
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 06:30 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
What is the input water's reading? The most pure water is RO/DI, which will get your readings to 0ppm. If you have only RO without the DI (de-ionized) water, then under 20ppm is normal.

Where did you buy it from? Do they have a return policy? I ask only because if you eventually want SPS corals, RO/DI unit will be your best bet.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:19 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
What part of your Ro/di system are you getting the readings from? I have my tds meter read after the filters but before the di and then the final output. It seems your numbers are high right off the bat. Where are you getting your water for the system from?

Steve
__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:21 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nick862's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: england
Posts: 147
Input water is around 270 and it's from site called collinswaterproducts.co.uk 3 stage r/o and I also have a plumbed in electronic d/I on my mains suppl
__________________
Nick862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:29 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nick862's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: england
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick862
Input water is around 270 and it's from site called collinswaterproducts.co.uk 3 stage r/o and I also have a plumbed in electronic d/I on my mains suppl
I flush it before use and the ppm drops to 16 then after an hour of use it's about 35-40, could it just be the r/o system is just not up for the job or have I done something wrong here, it's plumbed in as the instructions say, I'm going to email the company I bought it from but being a Sunday il have to wait for a reply,
Iv got 35l of this r/o water that sitting at about 45ppm, will that be ok to use as my takes due for a weekly pwc, I don't want to use it if I get algae blooms , Cheers
__________________
Nick862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nick862's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: england
Posts: 147
Also I only have soft corals
__________________
Nick862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:45 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Even the 100GPD RO membranes are 90% efficient. So for 270 ppm input I would expect the output to be around 27ppm. If you have a 50, 75 or 150 gpd membrane with 98% or 99% efficiency you should be seeing 1 - 3 ppm output.

You need to waste about 6 gallons when changing a membrane. It appears to me that something is wrong with the membrane. Contact the company you got it from and get a new membrane. Or return it and get a new unit elsewhere. Add the DI cartridge to get 0 tds water.

I've never heard of an electronic DI, but that would give you 0 ppm input water!
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nick862's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: england
Posts: 147
That's great help. I contact the shop I got it from, cheers
__________________

__________________
Nick862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do these results mean? KeSs Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 11-15-2006 08:21 AM
Test results Fishyfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 01-15-2006 08:54 PM
Here's my results... Morticus Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-03-2005 11:45 PM
The results are in...now what? BeerBotia Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 02-17-2005 11:02 PM
results again sorry hotskate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-31-2003 11:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.