Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2004, 12:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 143
Red Sea Berlin Classic Skimmer??

Hi I'm new to saltwater and just starting my reef setup. I purchased a used Red Sea berlin classic skimmer and am using it on a 33 gallon tank (might enlarge this eventually) and am just wondering how good this skimmer is?

I have read a ton of articles here talking about getting a better skimmer but haven't found much on this one? I don't get much gunk out of it yet but also don't have hardly any bio load, so I am just wondering if this is a good skimmer for my system or not??

Thanks!

33gal salt
3" DSB aragonite
~15 lbs Live rock (for now!)
3 small power filters (cannister, PH, and HOB) for water circulation
__________________

__________________
vertex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 06:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
There may be a few reasons you are not getting much skimmate.
1. the skimmer is new, and it needs to go thru the "break-in period"
2. The tank is new, so there is not much to pull out.
3. That skimmer is not the best one. (I have no experience with that skimmer, but have not heard anyone raving about it either)
All that said, you will probably be fine if you stock lightly. If you plan to upgrade in a year or so, stick with it til then.
Good luck
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 11:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
actually that's not a terrible skimmer (I've seen a Berlin on a 150gallon)...certainly not for a 33.
However darb is dead on:
1. this is a new tank, doesn't sound like there's any fish, so there's very little to skim
2. new skimmers do take some tweaking, and go through a few days of 'break in'
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:06 PM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
The skimmer will work fine. Not the most effecient model but it will dop the job. They are prone to pump failure though. Give it time to collect skimmate a new tank does not yield much in the way of skimmable compunds.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweet Home ALABAMA
Posts: 338
Get AquaC Remora skimmer if you ever decide to get a new one in the future.
__________________
75 gal SW
55 gal FW
IfoundNemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:16 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Can't go wrong with an aquaC!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 05:31 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I am running a Berlin classic with a mag5 on my 75 gal. I have had issues with it pulling out water and overflowing after adjusting it. It can be very finiky. I don't adjust mine unless I see less skimmate being produced.

Works decent. I hope to have a friend modify it to work like a Aqua C EV series skimmer one day
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 02:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 143
Thanks everyone... ellisz, I am wondering what is there really to adjust... I mean you can change bubble quantity by the tube air intake but that is all isn't it?

What else can be adjusted with this or other skimmers? Don't you just let it go and empty the cup as needed?
__________________

Equipment: 33G SW Reef tank (pic), 192W Coralife PC lighting, PHs for H2O circulation, Red Sea Berlin Classic Skimmer
Aquascaping: 3" DSB, 50lb live rock (~35 lbs home made Cement Base Rock)
Clean Up Crew: Blue Leg hermits, Cerith snails, Astrea Snails, Stomatella snails, Brittlestar, banded brittles.
Critters: Hawaiian feather duster, Coral Banded Shrimp, Emerald Crab
Corals: Open Brain Coral, Cabbage coral, 4 RBTAs, Melon mushrooms, green Zoos, yellow polyps, finger Leather, orange Zoos, Brown Zoos, Chocolate Zoos, Xenia, GSP, Kenya Tree Coral, 2 acropora SPS, blue sponge, candy cane
Fish/Inverts: Maroon Clownfish, Scooter Blenny, Coral Beauty dwarf angel, Sea Hare
vertex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 02:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 143
What size of tank can the aqua C go up to. I realize its probably the best one since everyone here rants about it, but how big of tank is it effective with?
__________________

Equipment: 33G SW Reef tank (pic), 192W Coralife PC lighting, PHs for H2O circulation, Red Sea Berlin Classic Skimmer
Aquascaping: 3" DSB, 50lb live rock (~35 lbs home made Cement Base Rock)
Clean Up Crew: Blue Leg hermits, Cerith snails, Astrea Snails, Stomatella snails, Brittlestar, banded brittles.
Critters: Hawaiian feather duster, Coral Banded Shrimp, Emerald Crab
Corals: Open Brain Coral, Cabbage coral, 4 RBTAs, Melon mushrooms, green Zoos, yellow polyps, finger Leather, orange Zoos, Brown Zoos, Chocolate Zoos, Xenia, GSP, Kenya Tree Coral, 2 acropora SPS, blue sponge, candy cane
Fish/Inverts: Maroon Clownfish, Scooter Blenny, Coral Beauty dwarf angel, Sea Hare
vertex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 08:50 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
ellisz, I am wondering what is there really to adjust... I mean you can change bubble quantity by the tube air intake but that is all isn't it?
Yeah, you can only adjust the air intake screw. If you have it open to far, it will pull water out, if it is not open enough, it won't pull enough/anything. I have read that Berlin skimmers were finiky and needed a lot of adjustment but I don't mess with mine. I just make sure a good amount of bubbles it coming up the tube and that it is not real wet.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sea, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Sea berlin classic W/Rio 2500 pump Archive 7 05-03-2006 08:56 AM
Red Sea classic skimmer Q's General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-18-2006 11:38 PM
Red Sea Classic Skimmer skennelly Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-09-2004 09:56 PM
Aqua C Urchin vs Red Sea Berlin Turbo Classic JeffProe Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-27-2004 02:45 PM
red sea berlin turbo classic xl dustybrannum Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-22-2004 10:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.