Red Sea Berlin Classic Skimmer??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vertex

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi I'm new to saltwater and just starting my reef setup. I purchased a used Red Sea berlin classic skimmer and am using it on a 33 gallon tank (might enlarge this eventually) and am just wondering how good this skimmer is?

I have read a ton of articles here talking about getting a better skimmer but haven't found much on this one? I don't get much gunk out of it yet but also don't have hardly any bio load, so I am just wondering if this is a good skimmer for my system or not??

Thanks!

33gal salt
3" DSB aragonite
~15 lbs Live rock (for now!)
3 small power filters (cannister, PH, and HOB) for water circulation

There may be a few reasons you are not getting much skimmate.
1. the skimmer is new, and it needs to go thru the "break-in period"
2. The tank is new, so there is not much to pull out.
3. That skimmer is not the best one. (I have no experience with that skimmer, but have not heard anyone raving about it either)
All that said, you will probably be fine if you stock lightly. If you plan to upgrade in a year or so, stick with it til then.
Good luck

actually that's not a terrible skimmer (I've seen a Berlin on a 150gallon)...certainly not for a 33.
However darb is dead on:
1. this is a new tank, doesn't sound like there's any fish, so there's very little to skim
2. new skimmers do take some tweaking, and go through a few days of 'break in'

The skimmer will work fine. Not the most effecient model but it will dop the job. They are prone to pump failure though. Give it time to collect skimmate a new tank does not yield much in the way of skimmable compunds.