Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-07-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ashiee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 115
red sea max

does anyone have a red sea max 250 i jist wanna ask a few questions about the filtraion system
__________________

__________________
ashiee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 11:40 AM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
These guys can probably help you: Nu Nu and Gboy's 66 gallon Red Sea Max build
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 12:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Nu-Nu the eel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,455
Hi ashiee whats giving you problems?
__________________
Nu-Nu the eel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ashiee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 115
hard to explain . but ill try

the filter section on the left side witch has the charcole filter and the noodle stuff does the slidey bit always get blocked up or is there something you have changed .

i now have took the slidey bit out and added the the noodle filter .
when i first got the red sea i got told the noodle bit gets blocked really easy .
__________________
ashiee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiee2
hard to explain . but ill try

the filter section on the left side witch has the charcole filter and the noodle stuff does the slidey bit always get blocked up or is there something you have changed .

i now have took the slidey bit out and added the the noodle filter .
when i first got the red sea i got told the noodle bit gets blocked really easy .
Blocked? With what? Detris, algae?

And im not sure what you mean by the noodle stuff. Are you talking about an additional biological filtration?

One thing i noticed was if the media clip is slid all the wat down, water flow to the left powerhead is blocked. Thus causing a lower goh for that head because it lacks water. You can tell because it will blow out bubbles into the tank..
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ashiee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 115
just blocked with algae so not enough water goes to the power head and yea air bubbles everywere.
so everyday i have to take that clip out wash it out or just put another filter in that clip .
__________________
ashiee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiee2
just blocked with algae so not enough water goes to the power head and yea air bubbles everywere.
so everyday i have to take that clip out wash it out or just put another filter in that clip .
Ok good, we know whats up. Simply dont slide the clip all the way down. That way even if there is algae, the water can pass underneath. Try that now and see if it helps. As soon as i did that, boom, water went rushing into that chamber

Good to have another RSM owner here Ashie. Ive been having trouble with my skimmer so you you can expect some PM's on that sometime
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ashiee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 115
hahahha thank you and it is good to have another rsm guy hahaha my skimmer was a pain .im getting a new colection cup mine wasnt working the nozzle on the right of the cup for the air just kept spinning in and out so that was stuffed and just for now i have a air valve to it
__________________
ashiee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 10:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiee2
hahahha thank you and it is good to have another rsm guy hahaha my skimmer was a pain .im getting a new colection cup mine wasnt working the nozzle on the right of the cup for the air just kept spinning in and out so that was stuffed and just for now i have a air valve to it
Interesting, ya im scared to take the whole thing out! I simply am not getting any skimmate. None. And the tank has been up for 5 months
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 10:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ashiee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 115
taking the hole thing out would be a pain. so you getting no foam at all . wats you ... umm **** haha the thing on the back wall were you can move it up and down .
how far down is it under the water
__________________

__________________
ashiee2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.