Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2012, 10:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rluka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 38
Red Slime

Hello Everyone,

Does any one has any idea on how to get rid of red slime? I tried to scoop it by hand, change the water, but no use. I also added a power head at the spot where it's growing, but still didn't work. I have a 29g biocube, and it's mainly growing on the sand and the glass.

Many thanks
Rand
__________________

__________________
Rluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:17 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Start by siphoning it out with a piece of airline tubing. Cyano is a nutrient issue in your tank. Do you use ro/di? How many fish in your biocube? How much do you feed? Water changes weekly?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:45 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 114
When I had it, I:
1. Removed the cyano with a turkey baster
2. Confirmed my water source doesnt initially have nitrates/phosphates
3. Added phosguard to my tank
4. Reduced my feeding from 2x per day to once a day
5. Did a 50% water change to get any phosphates or nitrates down
6. Turned off the lights for 2 day.
7. Installed a protein skimmer
8. Added chaeto

I bought reedslime, but didn't need to use it.
__________________
Chirp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rluka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
Start by siphoning it out with a piece of airline tubing. Cyano is a nutrient issue in your tank. Do you use ro/di? How many fish in your biocube? How much do you feed? Water changes weekly?
Thanks Sniperhank!
1. I use RO only.
2. I have 2 small clowns and 1 medium size angel, and recently added a white sand goby, but the guy disappeared the same day, never seen him since. About 25 lbs of live rock, 1.5 inch of sand bed, some corals, 1 laenka orange star, cleaner shrimp and few snails.
3. I feed about 2/3 of a cube of brine shrimp once a day.
4. Water changes are irrigular, sometimes once a week, and other times once a month.

Thanks
__________________
Rluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rluka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirp
When I had it, I:
1. Removed the cyano with a turkey baster
2. Confirmed my water source doesnt initially have nitrates/phosphates
3. Added phosguard to my tank
4. Reduced my feeding from 2x per day to once a day
5. Did a 50% water change to get any phosphates or nitrates down
6. Turned off the lights for 2 day.
7. Installed a protein skimmer
8. Added chaeto

I bought reedslime, but didn't need to use it.
Thanks Chirp!

Could you please explain numbers 1 and 8?

Thanks
__________________
Rluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rluka View Post
Thanks Chirp!

Could you please explain numbers 1 and 8?

Thanks
1. The red slime is another name for cyanobacteria. I usually use a turkey baster to suck up the stuff and throw it away.
8. Chaeto is short for chaetomorpha. It's a type of macroalgae. Cyano and other algae usually appears because there's excess nutrients (ie nitrates and phosphates) in the water. The chaeto consumes these nutrients to help prevent other algae from growing.
__________________
Chirp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 08:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Starchar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 384
Do you rinse your cubes or drop them in the tank whole? The juice that the mysis are frozen in won't feed your fish and is like rocket fuel for algae and cyano.
__________________
Starchar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:04 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Rluka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starchar
Do you rinse your cubes or drop them in the tank whole? The juice that the mysis are frozen in won't feed your fish and is like rocket fuel for algae and cyano.
Actually I drop them whole, partially thawed, I'm not sure how can I rinse it without loosing the food in the water it's too tiny to control.

Thanks
__________________
Rluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:19 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I rinse all thawed frozen foods in RO DI water using a brine shrimp net.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:53 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Pryzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 182
I use a tea strainer.
__________________

__________________
Pryzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
red, red slime, slime

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.