Red Slime Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crissysmith

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Help I am new to the saltwater world and have recently caught a horrible case of red slime algae. I have tried everything from increasing my water flow to buying tons of store chemicals. The tank is 115 gallons and has a D.A.S. filteration system. Please help.

Welcome to AA!

Stop dosing chemicals to begin with. If anything, they will only mask your problem.
How long has the tank been running?
Can you post some water parameters? Specifically salinity (SG), nitrite, nitrate and pH.
What kind of water are you using for top offs and water changes? Tap, well, RO, RO/DI?

Well the tank has been running about 8 months at my house but several years from the place we got it.

The Salinity is at 1.025
PH is about 7.9
Nitrite is a little high at .25
Nitrate is 0.00

I use RO water for top offs and the saltwater that is already prepared at the fish store to do water changes. I just did a water change two weeks ago.

You might want to check you Phosphate levels, I think you might have a Cyano problem. I would suggest cutting you light time in half weekly water changes, Also if you are using Sand try to scoop some of it out IMO siphoning can cause it to spread.

What do you have in the tank?
How much/often and what are you feeding?
Have you tested the water from the LFS for nitrItes and phosphates?
Tank just posted before me and reminded me...
How long do you run your lights?
I prefer to mix my own SW, so I have better control of what goes in it.

By the way, welcome to the site!

Last edited: