Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2003, 09:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: nj
Posts: 170
Red slime algae

Help! I've got red slime algae. I've read the other posts on this board and thought for sure I had a phosate problem. Went out got my little kit and I'm reading less than .2 (the lowest that my test kit goes). So I assume that's not the issue. I do not use ro/di for water changes / top off, which is why I thought phosate. I do not over feed.

Some facts: 30 gallon fowlr
Amm 0
nitrate less than 10
nitrites less than .2
sg 1.024
temp 82
ph 8.0
phosate less than .2

I've got two false percs, a red stripped goby and 6 astrea snails and about 4-5 turbo snails. My cleaner shrimp died today -- I found what was left of him this evening, which may explain the elevated levels of nitrite and nitrate. I tested the tank two weeks ago and all was 0.

So, why the red slime problem. came back 2 days after my last water change 2 weeks ago


And does any one know why my shrimp might have died with no warning what so ever
__________________

__________________
clownfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 09:48 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
I do not use ro/di for water changes / top off, which is why I thought phosate. I do not over feed.

More than likely you do have a po4 issue. The alge is consuming the po4 and that is why you are not getting high readings There is also the issue of waterflow. Cyano esults in nutrient rich low waterflow areas. Do some watrerchanges using RO/DI water (siphon the cyano out during the water change) mixed to the same SG, ph and temp as the tank, reduce feeding, increase skimming and increase waterflow.

Quote:
And does any one know why my shrimp might have died with no warning what so ever
Could be a molt rather than a death. Shrimp will hide for a couple days after they molt, they are very vulnerable while their shell hardens.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 12:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: nj
Posts: 170
So, you are saying Po4 is not reading because it's gone, consumed by the algae, but there was enough to sustain the algae growth in the first place???

Pretty sure it's not a molt. been there before and this looks like dead shrimp. I also lost my two peppermint shrimp a few months ago.... any ideas?
__________________
clownfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 12:20 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
So, you are saying Po4 is not reading because it's gone
No, I'm saying it is lower than your test kit can read (even it's lowest reading is high for PO4 IMO), not necessarily gone. There is also organic phosphates to consider which cannot be measured by test kits. IME, once the algae has a foothold, it takes very little to sustain it, it needs the nutrients for growth. I also mentioned waterflow, can we assume that the areas with cyano are getting good waterflow?
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 12:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: nj
Posts: 170
I actually moved the ph to provide better flow to those areas.
__________________
clownfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 08:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 115
Reefrunner covered it, if you can measure any inorganic phosphate then rest assured your organic phosphates are considerably higher. You might try a phosphate sponge, but i think you will not get rid of this problem until you go with RO/DI water. HTH
__________________
jks1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 10:21 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: nj
Posts: 170
Thanks guys. I may try a phosphate sponge. I don't think RO/Di is in my immediate future.

I also adjusted the ph and may get another, since the worst outbreak is in one corner which was not getting the most flow.
__________________

__________________
clownfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, red slime, slime

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Slime algae skae310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 02-04-2010 06:01 PM
Red Slime Algae crissysmith Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 12-17-2008 10:19 PM
help!!!! red slime algae will8 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 12 06-06-2008 04:34 PM
red slime algae lamaseta17 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-07-2008 02:12 AM
Has Anoyone used this for Red Algae? ULTRALIFE RED SLIME RubixCube Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-22-2004 12:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.