Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-15-2005, 07:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Red Slime Algae

I need help please!!!

My husband and I have been battling Red Slime Algae for a few months and it just wont stop! Let me give you the low down on our tank.

We have an 80 gallon tank, refugium with kelerpa (spelling?) algae growing in it. We have about 60 lbs of live rock, a four inch sand bottom with four power heads to keep the water moving. We have a UV filter as well and chemical (charcoal & nitrate sponge) filters in the refugium. In our tank we have a convict blenny, 5 damels and countless hermit crabs and snails (both the sand sifting and turbo). We keep the temp at about 80...

Okay so what the heck are we doing wrong? We clean out the build up when it gets bad, if we did it every day it would never stop!!!

Old 02-15-2005, 08:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Here you go...

http://www.algone.com/red_slime_algae.htm

...I'm not saying buy the product, but this page will tell you a little bit about this specific type of algae. HTH

EDIT: Here's a better link...

http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/mic...a/aa092800.htm

Old 02-15-2005, 08:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

first off...Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!!