Red Slime Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JPloman

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I need help please!!! :x

My husband and I have been battling Red Slime Algae for a few months and it just wont stop! Let me give you the low down on our tank.

We have an 80 gallon tank, refugium with kelerpa (spelling?) algae growing in it. We have about 60 lbs of live rock, a four inch sand bottom with four power heads to keep the water moving. We have a UV filter as well and chemical (charcoal & nitrate sponge) filters in the refugium. In our tank we have a convict blenny, 5 damels and countless hermit crabs and snails (both the sand sifting and turbo). We keep the temp at about 80...

Okay so what the heck are we doing wrong? We clean out the build up when it gets bad, if we did it every day it would never stop!!!

first off...Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
I assume you are talking aabout cynobacteria covering the rock and substrate. It isa sign of too much nutrients in the water. This isussually in the form of nitrates o phosphates. I recommend getting a PO4 test kit and seeing what your tank levels are at and your source water (the water you use for changes and topp-offs) is at. Are you using tap water or RO/DI water? What is your feeding schedule? how much movement do you have in the tank? You must find the souce of the algea and eliminate in order to get rid of it in your tank. Once you identify and correct the source you can use a comercial remover like Chemi-Clean to get rid of what you have in your tank. Keep in mind, if you do not identify the source, it will just keep coming back. Good luck...Lando