Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-08-2007, 04:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Red slime algae

Looking to control or eliminate algae growth?I have brushed it from my rock and removed it physically from the aquarium but it keeps regrowing.I`m worried it will smother the nice growth (algae) on my rock.Ho! I have reduced my feeding intervals and reduced daytime light to six hours from eight hours also.Waiting for some suggestions?Thanks inadvance.
__________________

__________________
spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 05:02 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
What are your nitrAtes/phosphates, from your source water?
What/how much are you feeding?
Any chance you can update "my info" with your tank size/critters/equipment.
Can you also post your water results as well?
Brushing will only spread it, if it is red slime. Try using a siphon to suck it out and increase PWCs.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 05:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 21
Check your phosphates. I have had red slime and my phosphates were high. It because I'm using Tap water. I'm going to start using R/O from my LFS. You can buy phosphate remover that you can put in a bag and keep it in your filter or somewhere that has water running across it. Also if you have crushed coral as your substrate I was told that this is a cause because it traps debris more than say sand would causing red slim to form. I have that as well. LOL I'm in the process of upgrading my tank and the new one will be sand. Just some thoughts for ya.
__________________
FPandMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 05:15 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...q=2&fldAuto=48
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 05:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Hey guys thanks for all the responses.Also How do I update My Info! I have never tried or atleast,I can`t remember what I did when I first did it.Water parameters are as folows.Nitrites-0,Nitrates-5,Phosphates-.5,PH-8.2,Ammonia-0,S.G.1.024.I have read that link also.I will post results as they occur.Some of the things in the info I have been doing allready and will continue,but wil incorperate the others with time.I know this is a nautral process and my live stock are all healthy and doing find,it just looks like crap.Thanks agian
__________________
spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 05:56 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Go to the home page and you can update your profile.
The only problem I see are the phosphates and a smaller problem with the nitrAtes. What are your source water's results? If you are getting phosphates or nitrAtes from there, you will not really be able to combat it. You may want to look into an RO/DI unit or use distilled water....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 06:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Yes, in my response prior I for got to mention I am using ro/di water from my own unit.Also I just recently added A skimmer that is now actually skimming now after a short break-in period.I was feeding everyday w/all filtration off.Because of my lite livestock load I was only feeding in very small amounts,and things were fine,but when I added the colt coral I did start to use a photoplankton.
__________________
spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 06:30 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Hmmm, I am out of my experience level when it comes to corals.
Can you explain how much you are feeding it and how often?
How old is your RO/DI?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
I like your dog roka64. He looks pretty nice and playful.

Sorry... off-topic.
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 04:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Yes.I`m following the directions on the bottle 2tbs.for every 100gal. everyother day.But I have suspended the feedings till the bloom clears.My ro/di unit is new,three months old.I have kept a diary since inception , and I belive the sourse of the problem is two fold.One I used some dead rock in the scaping,and two feeding with fresh seafood.The latter being that althought the fish were consuming most, some raw matieral would remain.I now use very small picses and I use skewers to target feed only the fish that like it.The clean up crew (Hermit crabs) did not seem to consume the left overs?
__________________

__________________
spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, red slime, slime

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Slime algae skae310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 02-04-2010 06:01 PM
Red Slime Algae crissysmith Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 12-17-2008 10:19 PM
help!!!! red slime algae will8 Saltwater & Reef - Identification 12 06-06-2008 04:34 PM
red slime algae lamaseta17 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 03-07-2008 02:12 AM
Has Anoyone used this for Red Algae? ULTRALIFE RED SLIME RubixCube Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-22-2004 12:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.