Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2012, 07:46 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Ok. Thanks. I won't get a probe. I do need a gfi tho. Now I'm guessing I should install the gfi on the first outlet of the circuit? If I did that will it trip if any piece if equipment fails even tho it actually isn't plugged into the gfi outlet? I have a dedicated circuit for tank with a 20 amp breaker.
__________________

__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 08:18 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
You can wire a GFI in two ways. One way would cause all downstream devices to also trip. Each of those downstream devices would also be GFI protected when wired this way. Or, you can wire it so that only the one outlet is GFI protected and the only one to trip.

On the GFI receptacle, you will see two sets of terminals. One is labeled "Line" and the other is labeled "Load". If you want to have all of the downstream devices to be GFI protected you need to make sure that the correct wires are attached to the "Load" terminals. But, unless you are experienced, hire an electrician to do it. It isn't hard but if you don't know what you are doing you may cause more problems.
__________________

__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 09:27 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
I have some basic knowledge. I would imagine the load would be connected to the line heading to the next outlet. The line would be the incoming line from breaker? I would like all outlets to be protected.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 09:41 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpfaff77 View Post
I have some basic knowledge. I would imagine the load would be connected to the line heading to the next outlet. The line would be the incoming line from breaker? I would like all outlets to be protected.
That is correct. One word of caution, if you have all of the outlets on the GFI and something from one of the other outlets causes the GFI to trip, you tank will be without power. Not a big deal if you are around to catch it but if you were gone for a couple of days................
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 09:52 AM   #55
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Yeah that worried me. I am getting a aqua controller in few weeks so that would alert me. My wife or I would be home after work every night so at most would be out of power for the day. But that could kill things so un sure what to do.

Is it better to switch the line and load? Would that protect just that individual gfi? I could just buy handful of outlets and protect pumps and heater and skimmer. Leave return pump without gfi and lights without. But then what if those have failure and don't trip breaker. Not sure where to go with this.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:35 AM   #56
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Put all aquarium related stuff on the GFI in my opinion but don't tie downstream outlets to the load side. Tap the feed wires so that they go straight through to the downstream devices and have a tap that goes to the "Line" side of the GFI. Nothing attaches to the "Load" side of the GFI.

This way, if you plug a vacuum into an downstream outlet it won't trip the GFI feeding the aquarium. However, if anything related to the aquarium has a ground fault it will trip.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:05 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnelson99
Put all aquarium related stuff on the GFI in my opinion but don't tie downstream outlets to the load side. Tap the feed wires so that they go straight through to the downstream devices and have a tap that goes to the "Line" side of the GFI. Nothing attaches to the "Load" side of the GFI.

This way, if you plug a vacuum into an downstream outlet it won't trip the GFI feeding the aquarium. However, if anything related to the aquarium has a ground fault it will trip.
Ok you lost me on that one. I guess by tap the wires you mean break that little tab so it feeds next outlet? Maybe i dont know as much as thought i did. I have a tank room and about 6 or 7 outlets in the room with a dedicated breaker. So would never plug anything else into those outlets except tank stuff. So I am better off getting multiple gfi? Or should I protect the whole room? Really can't afford an electrician but I can switch out some outlets if need to.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 07:51 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
What is meant by tap is that both sets of wires tie onto the line terminal, this is properly done by twisting the wires together with a third wire and capping it with a marette or wire nut the third wire connects to the line terminal. It is also important that the ground wire be hooked up, some old houses dont have proper grounding which will defeat the purpose of a gfci receptacle.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 08:02 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Ideally multiple gfis would be ideal that way if somthing trips it doesn't cut the power off the whole tank. But at around 20$ each they can get costly but. To have your return pump quit cause your heater shorted out while ur on vacation could bed devastating
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 08:26 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reeffanman
Ideally multiple gfis would be ideal that way if somthing trips it doesn't cut the power off the whole tank. But at around 20$ each they can get costly but. To have your return pump quit cause your heater shorted out while ur on vacation could bed devastating
Yeah that is a huge concern. I can always add gfi by gfi. Buy one or 2 at a time and protect certain equipment. Still torn how to handle this and prevent disaster in the future.
__________________

__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, reef aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what to look for when buying light for your reef aquarium alex787 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-05-2011 04:01 PM
What is the best filter system for a reef aquarium alex787 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-02-2011 08:22 PM
T5 vs T8 in reef aquarium Jan Levine Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-01-2011 03:30 PM
What kind of water to initially fill reef aquarium with? iamkush Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 09-12-2011 07:04 PM
14 gallon nano reef starup NYYFan19801 Nano Reefs 7 09-02-2011 11:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.