Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-18-2013, 10:46 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Tex View Post

so which is better? ro, or, rodi..? ill be topping off and mixing water changes with this puppy so whichever one is the best for a budget ill get it.
Get the rodi with the tds meter on it.
__________________

__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:58 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenstreet.1 View Post
Get the rodi with the tds meter on it.
whats the meter and gauge do..?
__________________

__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:59 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Tex View Post

whats the meter and gauge do..?
The gauge is for the psi I run mine at 60 the meter is for the tbs measure what's coming in and what's going out.
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:00 AM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenstreet.1 View Post
The gauge is for the psi I run mine at 60 the meter is for the tbs measure what's coming in and what's going out.
oh dayuum sounds complicated..
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:02 AM   #45
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
No it's not just sounds that way.
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:08 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenstreet.1 View Post
No it's not just sounds that way.
does it have to run all the time?
do i need a storage container for it to pump into?
how often do you change filters?
is there an indicator for them?
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:11 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Greenstreet.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: long island,NY
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Tex View Post

does it have to run all the time?
do i need a storage container for it to pump into?
how often do you change filters?
is there an indicator for them?
No not at all times just when you can hook up as a ato and a storage. Or storage to refill ato and to make new sw water.
__________________
Greenstreet.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:12 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fleetwood PA.
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Tex View Post
does it have to run all the time?
do i need a storage container for it to pump into?
how often do you change filters?
is there an indicator for them?
You will want a storage container to hold at least some water, I run mine to fill a tote, then shut it off until the tote gets low. You use the TDS meter to tell you when to change filters. When the tds meter starts reading anything other than 0 it's time to change. The DI resin also is usually "color changing" so you can monitor that as well as the tds meter.
__________________
JonathanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:23 AM   #49
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenstreet.1 View Post
No not at all times just when you can hook up as a ato and a storage. Or storage to refill ato and to make new sw water.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanG View Post
You will want a storage container to hold at least some water, I run mine to fill a tote, then shut it off until the tote gets low. You use the TDS meter to tell you when to change filters. When the tds meter starts reading anything other than 0 it's time to change. The DI resin also is usually "color changing" so you can monitor that as well as the tds meter.
i have 5gal watermill express drinking water containers if that helps, but how would i mix it? with a powerhead..? i have a canoe paddle too lol
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:46 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fleetwood PA.
Posts: 168
I use a powerhead and heater in another tote to mix my salt water when I do water changes.
__________________

__________________
JonathanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.