Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-11-2006, 08:17 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
you need to buy a overflow box or have the tank drilled and install a bulkhead.
You do not want to cut corners here. Trust me your not the first one to try the syphon with just a hose trick, it will fail. The only question is when. Take it off line ASAP until you get a OF box.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 08:24 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Sometimes the LFS will have old overflows - got a 600GPH from one here in Omaha for $35.
__________________

__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 06:10 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Why hasn't anyone used the overflow concept, but with a pump at the bottom? Pumping out until of overflowing/siphoning? Doesnt' seem like it'd take much power to get a good 300-600 GPH or more.

I imagine there's a priming issue - but I'm sure some pumps can start dry and pull water through a dry hose...
__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 06:57 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 301
I've decided I might see If I can get the tank i'm planning to use drilled so I can use a ball float valve, this should solve the siphoning and return pump issues as long as I can find a pump that returns the water to the display slower than the siphon, I can't see any faults or possible failures using this method, can anyone think why this may not work?
__________________
OceanMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 07:24 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
How is the syphon going to restart after a power outage? Ball float valve will keep the water level up if its attached to a auto top off in the sump.
What tank are you gonna drill the sump or main tank?
In your main tank you either need a OF box or a reef ready or drilled tank. Having a pipe hang in the tank with a syphon going is not going to work long term. You will have a flood one day.
If it was that easy everyone would be doing it.. Trust me on this, I had to set up a quick 75 QT tank when my 125 crashed and I used a syphon like your talking about. Well we lost power and I had a big flood in my family room.
So not only did my reef crash and I flooded my basement I was also very sick and we lost power. I don't wish a flood on anyone..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 12:12 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 301
Quote:
How is the syphon going to restart after a power outage?
The siphon will never stop, the float valve stop the water from entering the fuge, the longest power cut i've ever experienced was no longer than 5 hours (which would not be long enough to cause extreme evaporation), so although a flood would be possible, it's extremely improbable, I will use fixed platic plumbing pipe, not PVC tubing, so it would not pop out the tank for whatever reason.

i know cutting corners here isn't the cleverest of ideas, but I have things higher up on my list of priorities.

Quote:
Sometimes the LFS will have old overflows
Thanks for the suggestion, but if you mean used ones, all the LFS I know have their tanks drilled, so are unlikely to have any.
__________________

__________________
OceanMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Evaporation help jgross15656 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-09-2008 01:40 PM
Evaporation catmel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 07-25-2008 08:00 PM
Evaporation!! hockeydude15 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 10-22-2007 02:13 PM
Evaporation? AlonelyCody Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 01-08-2005 12:53 AM
Evaporation Zero333 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 11-17-2004 04:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.