Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-09-2006, 05:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 301
Refuge Evaporation

I read somewhere (may have been on this site) that if you install a refuge under the display tank evapouration will occour in the refuge and not the main, is this always the case? TIA
__________________

__________________
OceanMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 06:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Where did you read that? I would like to read that, No idea how it would happen ONLY in a fuge.
Seeing the Fuge and tank are hooked together some how both will loose water.
I find it hard to believe that my 24" fuge will evaporate and not my 72" tank.
IMO that info is not correct. Reason being I and others blow fans across the surface of the tank and sumps to lower heat, this causes evaporation which lowers tank temps.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
If the fuge is serving as a sump also with your main return pump there, it will show evap there first. Yes it is evaporating everywhere, it's just that in the scenario I described above, the main will always have it's supply of water from the fuge/sump - which is where the level will drop before the main. That's where I have my topoff system located, to re-fill the fuge.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 10:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
In a typical sump/fuge design the evaporation will show only in the return chamber of the sump. This animation may help you understand- http://www.melevsreef.com/what_sump.html
HTH
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 12:06 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 301
Quote:
Consistent water level - The display tank will maintain the same water level all the times; evaporation occurs in the sump over time (see auto top-off)
Thanks MT79, that is exactly what I read, I did want to bookmark that page but I forgot,

will this only work if you use an overflow? only I can't afford one at the moment and have decided to use a peice of tube to syphon the water from the display?

This would be excellent if the evap does only show in the refuge as I have an auto top off I want to use on my tank and using a siphoning tube will depend on constantly monitoring the water level unless I can install this?
__________________
OceanMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 09:13 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
In my tanks the fuge return chamber goes down.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 09:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I did not understand the question... Agree with the others.. Water evaps from the whole system but the lover water level is SEEN in the sump or fuge.

Using a piece of tube to syphon water sounds risky too me. What happens if you loose power? how much water drains into the fuge before it loses syphon? And when power comes back on and your not home how does the syphon restart? If it wont restart I see some flooding and a dry fuge in your future.. Just a something too look at.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 10:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 670
Some commercial overflows have a nipple on top that you attach to either an lifter pump, or powerhead.

Or you can insert a length of airtubing up into the siphone U-tube, so it sucks the air out (and starts the siphon). That's how Mine is setup. I do have to keep the airline tubing clear of debris...
__________________
180G build thread

180G All-glass with dual megaflows in a custom stand
AquaC EV-180 skimmer
250 pounds LR
160 pounds aragonite
Custom acrylic sump from GlassCages.com
2xPCX-40 return pumps
2x250MH 14K, 2x175MH 14K - PFO lighting, 2x65W PC
No-name 36W UV
Water General 125GPH RO/DI
Filstar XP3
Scoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 12:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
they dont have a overflow just a tube, thats the issue IMO
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 06:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 301
Quote:
Or you can insert a length of airtubing up into the siphone U-tube, so it sucks the air out (and starts the siphon). That's how Mine is setup. I do have to keep the airline tubing clear of debris...
sounds interesting, could you explain what you mean and how it works?


If the attachment works its my initial design, the pump failing wouldn't be a problem as the siphon would only let 1" or so of water from the main tank which I could allow room for in the 'fuge, or at worst - a minor overflow would occour, however the siphon failing or the pump restarting would be a problem as it would drain the fuge, cause a flood and burn out the pump, (this is why I mentioned constant water level is crutial to avoid siphon failing), can anyone suggest how this could be prevented, TIA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg refuge_120.jpg (56.2 KB, 20 views)
__________________

__________________
OceanMist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Evaporation help jgross15656 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-09-2008 01:40 PM
Evaporation catmel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 07-25-2008 08:00 PM
Evaporation!! hockeydude15 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 10-22-2007 02:13 PM
Evaporation? AlonelyCody Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 01-08-2005 12:53 AM
Evaporation Zero333 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 11-17-2004 04:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.