Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-12-2003, 11:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: n.j.
Posts: 320
Send a message via AIM to troutman11111
refugium

i never had one that worked right. is this normal water flow to the pump or is the pump a little to fast?
__________________

__________________
troutman11111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2003, 08:10 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
fuge

What size pump are you using? Also...what size is the refugium?
Logan J
__________________

__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2003, 10:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: n.j.
Posts: 320
Send a message via AIM to troutman11111
Using CPR 300 GPH , and a 300 GPH pump. Had this running in my 30 gallon for months, problem was the plexiglass dividers pulled away from the rubbermaid tub, so I did not have the seal dividers. I do now from the 20 gallon glass tank, the water going into the refugium from the main tank was a flexible hose going straight down and into the rubbermaid. Now I have PVC going down with one 90 going under the tank and one 90 going down in the glass 20 gallon. Overnight the water level dropped to this point. the 300gph pump is a powerhead needed to run the cpr. the pump in the 20gal refugium is a 600gph.
__________________
troutman11111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2003, 01:21 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Now that the partions and baffles are sealed, where you are going to notice evaporation is in the final compartment, right before it goes back to the tank. The reason is that the other compartments are always being fed new water from the tank, the last compartment ships it out. I think if you'll take the measurments of the last compartment and the amount that it dropped, you will find the actual volume of evaporated water is not much greater than it was before, it is simply more noticeable and more dangerous to running your pump dry. You might consider a float valve and a resevoir to replace evap, it will make your life easier and give you some peace of mind.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 12:49 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: n.j.
Posts: 320
Send a message via AIM to troutman11111
wow never thought of that. in the rubbermaid i had it marked max low,add,norm, and max high when power went out. so if i add water to the last chamber and bring it up to the norm, which is just flowing over the top edge? this water being lowerd is evaporation. i was putting in 3gal aweek in the 30gal. i did get a 2 1/2 gal kent aquadose. i call it an iv. i was going to use it to dose kalk, but i know nothing about using the stuff.some day. could i use it for evaporation water?
__________________
troutman11111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 10:29 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
yes you can use kalk to replace your evaporated water.

Mix the kalk up a day in adavance and then drip at a rate of 2 or so drops per sec. Only drip the clear liquid.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 10:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: n.j.
Posts: 320
Send a message via AIM to troutman11111
thanks, i'm trying 1drop per sec now with ro water, just to get the feel or it. i will watch my refugium level to make sure it does not get to high. got to remember i don't have much to play with 20 gal tank. i have 1gal play over the max when power is out. any more the 20gal will overflow. so i should put in one gal max in the kent aquadose to be safe. walt
__________________
troutman11111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 09:55 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Ok, Good I see you have marked water levels on the sump. One thing to do is to know how much in gal is between the low water level and the regular water level. I have two marks on my sump. I call them max full and min full. If the water level is between those two marks then the tank is consitered full. If the mark is below those marks then its in need of water.

I try to drip my kalk to a point that the water level stays within those two marks.

They are about 1 or 1 1/2 gal apart.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: n.j.
Posts: 320
Send a message via AIM to troutman11111
every thing is working ok,with the refugium/tank. murphy got me, but i did'nt let him hurt me. my 1/2 inch brass check valve is leaking a little, when power is out the water level went to max which is good, then kept rising very slowly after power was out it took overnight to reach the very top of my tank but i caught it in time before any water spilled. i took it apart and cleaned it, put back and no more leak. did the suckon the pvc thing to see if it worked then blew out and could not. before i cleaned it some air was leaking. i am confused about my cpr overflow, i took the entire pvc pipe out from the pump in refugium and the water level still rose. since the overflow has a tube attached from my 300gph powerhead to run it, is it possible this water is slowly getting sucked into the overflow and going down to the refugium? the water level is below the lip on overflow and the water still rose. i took the tubing off the overflow and heard that air sound for a sec. this has got to be what is going on. thanks for any feed back .walt
__________________
75gal oceanic with 20 gal refugium, 750g.p.h.pump for HSA-250 skimmer, EHEIM-1250 PUMP FOR 200gph mincal. calcium reactor with 20lb co2 tank and co2 regulator with solenoid, 800G.P.H. overflow box pump and filter, aquaclearl 500 power filter for circulation and carbon use only,wave maker 900, 3x300g.p.h., pinpoint ph controller, delta star 1/3hp chiller.with 600g.p.h. pump, spectrapure automatic liquid level controller for the addition of ro.di.top off water, kent marine 4 stage delux maxxima 35g.p.d. hi-s, t.d.s. monitor, flush kit, 170lbs live rock, 5in sand bed, acropora's LG green,pink, and med purple, LG montipora encrusting purple, LG porities coral yellow, LG ruffled ridge coral, LG starburst coral green, green hairy mushrooms 100+, blue mushrooms, red mush, fluorescent green mush,green striped mush, bubble coral, LG finger leather and 2in baby, green ricordia mush, in refugium halimeda plant, caulerpa, and lot's of bug's. 1 purple tang, male and female percular clown's, 1 yellow wrasse
troutman11111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 11:09 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Quote:
my 1/2 inch brass check valve is leaking a little
Are you pulling our legs? Surely you are not using brass in your SW tank! Even stainless steel will rust in saltwater. Remove it immediately. It will poison your water.

NO metal allowed!

Mark
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saltwater Refugium or Non-Refugium Sump eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 02-08-2010 10:55 PM
Refugium? drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 06-16-2006 11:41 AM
Refugium Lemonsong General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 04-19-2006 08:21 PM
Refugium jmjead Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-08-2004 10:35 PM
Refugium? Maybe or maybe not flamron Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-31-2003 02:06 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.