Refugium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jmjead

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all, I am new to thiss forum. I have had SW tanks on and off for 15 years now but none for the last 4 years. I was one who always used a wet dry filter, now I am thinking of using a refugium. I have a few questions for you refugium experts out there. Do you guys also run prefilters and carbon (or other medium) or do you just run the refugium as is. If that is the case what polishes the water and what removes the "junk" prior to getting to the refugium and making it settle in the bottom of the refugium. Do you all like this setup over the wet dry?

What I have is a wet/dry with no bio balls in it only live base rock and a drip plates where I put a micron pad to polosh my water, in this sump, I also have my heater, skimmer and have it connected to my chiller after all that, I have the water going from the wet/dry to my refugium and have a mag 5 pumping the water back up. The only chemical filtration I have is what they call Chemi Pure bags. Once in a while if I am medicating the tank I woudl add some poly filters.

Hope this helps.

Richard, how do you have the water getting into the refugium from the wet/dry? Do you have a bulkhead with the water spilling into it?