Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2011, 10:49 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mequon, wisconsin
Posts: 16
refugium contents

Hello all, I have a 29 gallon refugium feeding a 65 reef tank that I set up a few weeks back. The systems been running for about 3 weeks now and I've worked all the kinks out of it, made a few mods and it's running quite well. I'm ready to add substrate to it but I'm unsure of what and how deep. I've read differing opinions Mud or no mud how deep should the sand be how much live rock to buy what kind of Macroalgae to get how much etc. Anyone have any advice?
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Dpaulmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 01:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
It also depends on how your fuge is setup,is it high or low flow,this will determine mud or sand.personally i would go with a 3-4" sand bed and some macro algae.I've used miracle mud and didn't think it was any better then sand and cheato.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mequon, wisconsin
Posts: 16
Hi Thanks for the advice. I would say it's probably a higher flow because when I set it up I took my bakpak skimmer and my eheim wet dry cannister and set it on the 29 gallon fuge. The idea was to get all the stuff out from under the main tank. I have the fuge flowing into a return 10gallon tank at about 196GPh. All I have in there right now is a couple pieces of Live rock, 1 piece of cheato and a little caulerpa. I just started it so I can remove and refine it pretty easy.
__________________
Dpaulmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
just add sand and the macro you have,but you'll need a light over it
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 05:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i've seen some people pack mud on the bottom and sand on top, i don't know what benifits you'd get from that but having chaeto in there and LR rubble is all you really need
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 08:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mequon, wisconsin
Posts: 16
Great advice, Thanks!
__________________
Dpaulmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:40 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak




 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 257
If the sand bed is deep enough to act as a remote deep sand bed that would help to reduce nitrates. It would have to be fairly deep to create an anaerobic environment. I think it is easier to just keep chaeto in there though too, with bare bottom. Very easy to clean out that way, skip anything in there that would trap debris like rocks and the like. For the few extra pounds you add in the the refugium it wont make much difference comparatively to the amount you have in the display. Use the room to maximize your area for chaeto growth. A 29 long isn't too deep and the whole area can be devoted to chaeto growing.
johnmaloney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:59 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mequon, wisconsin
Posts: 16
Thats exactly what I concluded from everyones advice and what I'll do. Thanks very much! I love this forum.
__________________
Dpaulmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:15 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ausfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 387
Bear in mind you need a good lighting system on the sump so the macro algae can do it's magic!
__________________
___________________________________
my 30g reef with refugium
Ausfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 12:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ausfish View Post
Bear in mind you need a good lighting system on the sump so the macro algae can do it's magic!
Just a cheap light will do for macro's
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY "stand behind the tank" refugium plus DIY skimmer Ausfish DIY Projects 4 10-13-2011 03:29 AM
Refugium Lighting and schedule carey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 07-16-2011 05:03 PM
Adding a refugium jcarlilesiu Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 23 07-11-2011 01:44 PM
Refugium pump question Dpaulmann General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-11-2011 11:18 AM
DIY refugium Ben10 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-10-2011 10:10 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.