Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-30-2003, 11:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SE KS
Posts: 104
Refugium? Maybe or maybe not

I was contemplating this today. Would it be possible to use a HOB filter as a refugium? I was looking at them on ebay and they are basically the same, the HOB I have wouldn't be much smaller. If it would work, what would I put in there? Thanks.

P.S. I have a lot of time on my hands right now, as I am just waiting for stuff to arrive. So, I get bored and thought this up. Don't flame me too bad if it won't work, I am new at this, so I just thought I would ask.
__________________

__________________
flamron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 11:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
Can't flame someone for trying new things!

With some ingenuity it could be modified and set up to work as one. BUT, I don't think the effort would be worth the results. With the relatively small space I don't think you could put enough stuff into it to make a difference in water quality or pod production. IMO, many refugiums are too small already.

Just for thought, what HOB did you have in mind?
__________________

HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 11:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SE KS
Posts: 104
I have the millenium 3000. It is clear which I thought would be kinda neat. I looked at one on Ebay that is a CPR style 12" hang on and it almost looks the same, minus the bulkheads and the center part.
__________________
flamron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 971
IMO the two chambers that you would have to create (with some sort of integrated baffles to change how the water enters the chambers to eliminate disturbance) would have no real space to feasibly have anything in it. Maybe you could float and light some macroalgae like Graciliaria sp. but again I don't think it would be worth the trouble.
HoopsGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 02:06 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
ppl do it all the time on nano-reef.com. They use an Aquaclear 500 as a refugium.
__________________
I never thought you would, but always knew you could.
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saltwater Refugium or Non-Refugium Sump eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 02-08-2010 10:55 PM
Refugium? drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 06-16-2006 11:41 AM
Refugium Lemonsong General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 04-19-2006 08:21 PM
Refugium jmjead Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-08-2004 10:35 PM
What is a refugium ???? ScubaDean Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-22-2004 09:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.