Refugium/Sump questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dr.Nate

Aquarium Advice Freak
Okay, I'm kinda new at all of this stuff, but I've been looking into adding a sump for my system and I have a ton of questions (and I'm trying to do it inexpensively). First of all, do I have to pay my LFS $225 for an acrylic sump that is predrilled or can I just buy a cheap glass 20 gal aquarium and use that? Also, the sumps at the LFS have a prefilter box that is HOB for the main aquarium, so they say there's no pump necessary there because it siphons automatically into the sump. So if I go with a 20 gal aquarium, I would need two pumps, right? One ouf of the main and one back to the main from the sump, right?

And lastly, do I need mud to grow macroalgae in my sump?

Okay, one more....do they make submersible pumps to go back and forth between the two if I decide to go that route? And, if so, what protects against disaster..i.e., one of the pumps going out and overfilling one of the tanks?

Sorry for all the questions, I just really need some answers.....Thanks!

You can get a HOB overflow box on ebay for 40 shipped. You don't want to pump out of your main and then back to your sump. That creates a nightmare if one of the pumps fails. Gravity fed is the best way to do this and the overflow on your main will suffice. No need to buy an expensive sump. Just use the 20g tank and install some baffles to provide areas for various things (a low flow area if you're going to put your fuge in there, a place for your skimmer, baffles that will eliminate the microbubbles from getting back to your main).

You don't NEED to grow anything or have substrate in your sump unless you want to dedicate part of it for your fuge. If you do that you'll want some substrate, some rock rubble and some macro (and a light, of course).