Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-20-2005, 01:32 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
For all this work, I am not feeling that it is worth it. Maybe I will do this later on. But for now I think I will use it as a QT. afilter, your post was BEYOND helpfull. Thanks soooo much!!!
__________________

__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2005, 06:00 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
it is good you used it as a quarntine since the fuge isn't really nessesary, but qt are a must.
__________________

__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 02:05 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Like I said I waited 2 years before setting up mine. QT is a good idea and look at a Sump/fuge later. Best time to do it is when you are moving or upgrading tank especially if you want to put it under the dispaly tank.

Oh, if you ever do look into upgrading your tank down the road check into a pre-drill tank it makes things much easier.

Good luck,
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 05:25 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
I dont really understand what a pre-drilled tank is. What does it do?
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 05:32 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Basically it eliminates the need for the overflow box and is more reliable for not losing the siphon in a power outage. Not needed unless you are going to do a sump down the road. A little more costly than a non drilled tank, but you break even because you do not need to purchase an overflow box.
__________________

__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.