Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2004, 05:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Indianapolis IN
Posts: 83
Remora Pro with a Mag3 pump

I'm currently considering purchasing a Remora Pro with a Mag3 pump, but have some questions that I thought AA may be able to help me with.

Is this skimmer a "Plug and Play" or will it need adjusting to perform well? i.e. airflow or waterflow adjusting

Is there any special types of maintenance I will need to perform for this skimmer?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Jon Solo
JonSolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 05:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
I have 2 of these I bought from Captivereefs.com. They are basically plug and play. You will need to allow about 2 weeks for break in but nothing needed on your part. I adjust my "o-ring" on the top of the collection cup but this is very easy to do. Also I dump mine every week and clean the collection cup as well...it is up and running by the next day again..HTH
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 05:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: maine
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Is this skimmer a "Plug and Play" or will it need adjusting to perform well? i.e. airflow or waterflow adjusting
The setup is about as plug-n-play as you can get. The only thing to adjust is the height of the collection cup. Once you get the collection cup to a heght that works good for your tank, you rarely have to worry about it.

Quote:
Is there any special types of maintenance I will need to perform for this skimmer?
Basic pump maintence applies to the Mag 3. People would typically not reccomend the Rio pumps with the Remoras because they require a lot of maintence to run right. The skimmer itself can last for a very long time before you have to clean it. Once the skimmer gets a little gunked up, they actually work better

I am buying a Remora in the next few days. I kept trying to find a cheaper solution, but the extra money for the Remora with a good pump seems well worth it.
__________________
*26 freshwater*
2x Sunburst Platys (2M, 2F) // 3x Neon Tetras (?) // 2x Cherry Barbs (1M, 1F) // 2x YoYo Loaches (?) // 1x Bushy Nose Pleco (M) // 1x Clown Pleco (?) //

*15H marine*
-30# Live Rock
-Mixed Snails (Nassarius // Cerith // Astrea // Black Turbo // Mexican Turbo)
-8x Blue Leg Hermit Crabs // 1x Banded Serpent Star // 1x Cleaner Shrimp
-1x Royal Gramma // 1x Percula Clownfish
-2x Mushroom Leather // Metallic Green Star Polyps // Pulsing Xenia // Striped Xenia // Blue Mushroom
-Remora + Maxi-Jet 1200 // 2x Maxi-Jet 600 // Maxi-Jet 400 // Visi-Therm Deluxe 50 // Current USA Orbit 2x 40w PC
grimlock3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 12:40 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Remoras are almost set and forget. Just clean the collection cup once a week, The pump every other month and the skimmer every six months and thats about it. Once the collection cup height is determined it can pretty much stay running great with no adjustments for a long time! I recomend and only sell them with the upgraded pumps. I do not trust rios!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump, remora

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Prefilter box for AquaC Remora Pro w/Mag3 pump Kurt_Nelson Archive 11 06-21-2008 07:42 PM
Aqua C Remora Pro w/ Mag-Drive 3 Pump Mackey256 Archive 0 05-18-2007 12:42 PM
Remora pro pump does not fit in pre-filter billburroughs General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-27-2005 07:50 AM
Mag3 v. MJ1200, Remora Pro Maximo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-08-2004 08:21 AM
Remora Pro w/Mag3 got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-21-2004 07:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.