Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2011, 01:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Posts: 65
Removing my bioballs!?!?

i have the 14g biocube and im removing the bioballs a handfull a day and i wanted to know if it would work if i just added the stock biocube carbon filter in the bioballs place with a air stone to make the water move through the carbon filter??i dont wanna go the route of LR ruble and cheto. so has anyone heard of this or am i the first to try??

any comments or advice would help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00558.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	199.9 KB
ID:	31593  
__________________

__________________
roryb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Posts: 65
any help would be great!?!?
__________________

__________________
roryb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 117
I don't like bioballs. They don't have enough surface area imo. If u want long term bio filtration I would either put your carbon pad and not replace it (too much trouble with carbon...I never use it) or loosely pack it with filter floss (best route). Don't replace the bioballs all at once and you won't need an aerator if you pack the media loosely.

Sent from my X10a using Aquarium
__________________
smarsh7903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Posts: 65
well i was going to take the bioballs out about 5 a day and then i was going to add the carbon filter to chamber 2 where the bioballs were and add a air stone to get some water flow to move it through the carbon filter does this sound like it will work>??
__________________
roryb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 117
It should but I don't know why you need the airstone. The filter you are using should have sufficient water flow. how does your setup work

Sent from my X10a using Aquarium
__________________
smarsh7903 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Posts: 65
what do you mean by how does it work??
14g biocube
protien skimmer in chamber 3 going to put carbon filter in chmber 2 and i have return pump in chamber 1

i have good water flow i have a circulation pump 250gph
but i thought the bioballs needed to go i heard they were for FW not SW
__________________
roryb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
They can be used for either, but they are known to become nitrate factories. Most replace them with LR rubble, not the carbon filter though.

If/when you remove them do it very slow, they are holding a decent chunk of your beneficial bacteria, removing them quickly could cause problems
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 02:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 82
Bioballs are a breeding ground for nitrates
__________________
Scarfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jacksonville Nc
Posts: 65
yeah i was having a problem with nitrates so i decided to take them out i have half of them out and my nitrates went from 40ppm to 20ppm in 2 days so everything is working good im only taking out about 6 at a time every 3 days
__________________
roryb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 04:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
sounds like a good plan. you don't need the air stone and the carbon is a good plan. maybe put some GFO in there too.
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, biocube, nano, saltwater

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing bioballs from biocube? nxb161 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-08-2010 07:34 AM
Really a need for bioballs?? xxnonamexx Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 26 01-18-2006 11:26 PM
Bioballs vs ceramic xray Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 01-12-2005 11:35 PM
Can I remove bioballs? Nitrate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 08-04-2004 05:44 PM
bioballs lilismom1 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 10-12-2003 07:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.