Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-21-2011, 08:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Replacing my substrate...

I have an established 72G with crushed coral substrate. I have been having nitrate problems recently and believe the crushed coral is the reason. I have never really liked the look of the crushed coral so wanted to change it anyway. I have began to siphon out a little bit each day (followed by a PWC) and have been very careful not to stir up a mess.

My question is what substrate should I use, I am assuming dry aragonite, but how fine should I go and how many lbs would you recommend for a 72 bow?

Is there a cheaper substrate that is just as good, like play sand etc.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:17 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I use a moderate size grain. When you take it out only do a 1/4 size plot of your substrate by siphoning out the CC and sliding the rinsed out aragonite down a piece of PVC. Once things are settled a few days down the road do another 1/4 plot till you are finished.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
I use a moderate size grain. When you take it out only do a 1/4 size plot of your substrate by siphoning out the CC and sliding the rinsed out aragonite down a piece of PVC. Once things are settled a few days down the road do another 1/4 plot till you are finished.
Thanks, I've just taken 1/4 of it out and will wait a few days until the next change.

Would it be okay to put the new substrate in after all of the old stuff is out? Which would leave the bottom bare for a few days. Or should I add a 1/4 when I take out a 1/4?

Thanks
__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: kokmo IN
Posts: 2
I just replaced my 10 year old CC.
I only did 1/4 of the tank at a time so the old substrate could seed the new sand with bacteria. Then after 2 weeks I did another 1/4 and so on.
To replace the CC I used Tropic Eden Reeflakes Aragonite Sand , that I purchased from Premium Aquatics in Indy.
It is perfect.
Great size because I wanted to add sand sifting gobies to my established tank.
I don't think you can go wrong with it.
__________________
wks01954@aol.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:30 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
It does not make any difference. It`s up to you.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
TomStav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 550
Thanks for all the help
__________________

__________________
TomStav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing substrate roydooms Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 30 03-20-2011 02:42 PM
Replacing my substrate w/ Eco-Complete dapellegrini Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 24 11-04-2006 06:25 PM
Replacing Substrate DocOc Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 09-22-2006 12:37 AM
Replacing stock light. Replace substrate too? scarf Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 09-11-2005 05:33 PM
Removing UGF and replacing substrate in an existing aquarium shogsten Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-16-2004 12:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.