Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2003, 07:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jacob Morgan Send a message via MSN to Jacob Morgan Send a message via Yahoo to Jacob Morgan
Resetting up my tank.

I think ima finally resetup my tank.. I had to take it down for money and time restrictions. I think i am back to having the time and money to set it up...


I wanna use my 15 gal long tank..


I have a hood on it I made and 'custom' (hehe) like I think it was 80 watts of NO lighting in the hood. Its a shallow tank as well.


I am wondering can I use this bag of silicia sand I have (Same stuff i used last time) .. I used to have really bad black algea all over the floor of my tank... was this the sand or me?


Ima prolly be using canister filter(s) w/o thte media in them .. just for circulation and i can use hang on waterfalls if need be.. also have 1 ph i can use..


I know wat teh salt conten etc needs to be I was hoping for some advice bout the sand, and the filters..


Any help appreciated guys..


p.s. Aaron OMG! your pet network REALLY has come thru.. I did a lil lookin and I was just SHOCKED at what you've put together.. glad to see it all work out..!.. Gj man!
__________________

__________________
15 gallon tank 1 yr old ran by a 15 yr old!
Jacob Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 09:08 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
Silica sand will work. It is pretty inert since it is essentially ground up glass.
__________________

__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 12:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Centralia, Illinois
Posts: 109
Send a message via Yahoo to aimeovaldi
I would suggest either aragonite sand, southdown (avail from some Home Depot) or live sand. I would suggest that you either stay 1" or less or 4" DSB or more as levels in between do not assist in denitrification. Look into at least 1# of Live rock per gallon of water. this will become the main filtration and the HOB or canister will assist in water movement as well as the PH. Looks like you are on the right page already. These suggestions are just my humble opinion.
__________________
Anthony Eovaldi
aimeovaldi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 05:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 244
Send a message via ICQ to tyler Send a message via MSN to tyler
http://www.reefs.org/library/article/r_toonen9.html

this should tell you what you need to know about sand.

were you using ro water in your prior experience?

to me, using a canister as means of water movement only seems rather wasteful, but that's only because i'd love to have on my planted tank. i'll trade you powerhead for cannister straight up...

what's your budget like? you probably already know about ahsupply.com and their wonderful pc retro kits. you could at least use it as supplemental lighting. 2x13 watt bright kit (no reflectors) is 14.99 plus 6.95 per bulb (actinic 03) at hellolights.com. just something to think about.


best of luck to you.
__________________
-Tyler
tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 11:05 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jacob Morgan Send a message via MSN to Jacob Morgan Send a message via Yahoo to Jacob Morgan
hehe I have yet to save up a cpl hundred to buy a nice light setup;/


I'll start on it sometime this weekend, my sis's b-day is today so i'm rather busy with that..


I was gonna go with a 4-5" dsb.. The sand from home depot is not available here and my lhs does not carry live sand, is why I asked about using the silicia again..
__________________
15 gallon tank 1 yr old ran by a 15 yr old!
Jacob Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 03:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 244
Send a message via ICQ to tyler Send a message via MSN to tyler
what do you currently have as far as bulbs? safest assumption would be 6500k daylights.

i just think the actinic pc's would make a nice supplement for under $40 shipped. placed on a different timer it would make a nice sunrise/sunset effect. plus it would bump you up from 5.3 wpg to 7.06, and if you actually are using daylight no's, this would balance the color out a bit.

just something to think about
__________________
-Tyler
tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 08:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jacob Morgan Send a message via MSN to Jacob Morgan Send a message via Yahoo to Jacob Morgan
When I took it down, I had 1 actinic (20watt) and the rest of the bulbs reg daylight..


on 2 timers... actinic came ona nd went off later then the reg bulbs.
__________________
15 gallon tank 1 yr old ran by a 15 yr old!
Jacob Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 11:25 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC.
Posts: 651
Send a message via Yahoo to targaboy78
Hi Jacob,

I do not have a SW tank nor do I know anything about SW setups, however, I am thinking about setting one up in a year or so. I read all the SW threads but generally just keep my questions to myself (I figure sooner or later someone will ask) but I'm curious about your tank.

You mentioned that it was a 15G long. What are the dimensions?
I have a 15G quarantine tank that is 24"L x 12"W x 12"D.

If you have a DSB of 4" to 5" that would only leave 7" or 8" of swimming area (approximately 2/3 of the tank or 10 gallons) less 15 lbs of LR. Is that right?

It seems like DSBs are for taller tanks... Anyone out there with any first hand experience with this type of setup?
__________________
"Life is not like a box of chocolates... it's more like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today... might burn your a$$ tomorrow."
targaboy78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 12:11 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jacob Morgan Send a message via MSN to Jacob Morgan Send a message via Yahoo to Jacob Morgan
its same as a 29 gallon tank, cept not as tall.


Umm, I have first hand experience, my tank ran fne ( was up over a yr) with this dsb. I had lke a 4" dsb..


Hope that answerd your question.
__________________

__________________
15 gallon tank 1 yr old ran by a 15 yr old!
Jacob Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Help Resetting up my 55 Gallon Planted Tank Atl300zx Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 02-18-2007 07:30 PM
Resetting up nano reef Tangaloo Nano Reefs 4 09-29-2005 01:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.