Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2013, 06:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
Rinsing gfo

Can someone please explain to me how they rinse bulk reef supply Gfo. I am running a nextreef reactor. I have been putting three cups in reactor with one cup of carbon. Sticking the water hose on inlet and let it run through the media. This works ok but not gonna be fun this winter when it's freezing outside. How do y'all do it?
__________________

__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 07:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Do your media change right before doing a pwc....... change the media and run the output into a bucket until it runs clear, then put the output line back and finish your water change.
And, unless I misread, you shouldn't be mixing GFO and carbon together...... you want GFO to lightly tumble, but not carbon. If carbon tumbles, it can grind itself up, and with GFO being harder than carbon, it will compound this.
__________________

__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I agree with the above poster, it would be really easy doing it like that. And no, you do not want gfo and carbon in the same reactor, each has different levels of flow that they need to lightly tumble.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 07:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Scotty Fraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 175
Are you supposed to let carbon tumble at all? You are correct that I have them mixed. Intake to reactor shut off mostly for only a slight tumble with the Gfo. This is not a good idea? Guess I could just put carbon in a bag in bubble trap.
__________________
Scotty Fraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ants86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 78
If you have two foam pads, you could put gfo at the bottom of the reactor canister, place a foam pad a couple inches above the gfo, then carbon, then another foam pad right above the carbon so it doesn't have room to tumble. This is how the BRS deluxe reactor (single canister) works. It has been working really well for me. I can adjust the amount of tumbling for the gfo by adjusting the intake valve, but the carbon doesn't tumble because it is held in place by the pads.

You should be able to get pads cheap from any hardware store. Just make sure it is porous and that you cut it so that it fits snugly into the canister. Or just buy the BRS reactor. It's pretty reasonably priced and looks clean.
__________________
ants86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
I stopped using GFO. It's a mess. I am a big fan of Purigen. It can recharged dozens of times and I think it is much easier to work with than that nasty red stuff that stains everything.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ants86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 78
Grey, can Purigen be used in a simple canister reactor? Is it purely for phosphate reduction?
__________________
ants86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by ants86 View Post
Grey, can Purigen be used in a simple canister reactor? Is it purely for phosphate reduction?


You can use it any way that contains it and allows water to flow thru it. It is designed to remove nitrogenous organic waste products, which include ammonia, nitrites and nitrates. It is handy to be able to see it as it changes color when it gets exhausted.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.