Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2004, 10:28 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
RO/DI booster pump needed?

I have been looking very hard at the Aquasafe RO/DI unit and the more I read, the more I wonder how my output will be.

The unit I have been looking at is a 75 GPD model. I know the water pressure on my outside hydrants is horrible. We are on city water and supposedly are at the legal minimum. I need to get a pressure tester to test inside pressure but thought I would see what you guys said

The TDS of my tap water is 131. Not good but I think not so bad. When we use the outside hose, it is hard to get a spray by putting your thumb over the outlet. I just wonder if a booster pump will even work? I tried using a gas powered pressure washer on my deck last year and it kept stopping since the water could not keep up.

So, do you think a booster pump is needed and will that solve any problems with RO output or will it still be bad?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:45 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Alright, I just talked with a friend that lives in the same area and he thought we have about 25-30 psi. Will a booster pump help this or am I hosed.

I will say that the RO water I have been getting in town tested at 31 so this sucks too
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 06:58 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I need a booster too, it needs a minimum of 35 and I have 40 so it barely works.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:50 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I just wonder if the booster will work that well? The one aquasafe sells is rated at 50 gpd which is less than the RO unit.

Anyone using a booster?
__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
I believe ReefRunner (Kevin) is using a booster pump. Perhaps he could shed some light on it as I have no idea...
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I would say that you need the pump and it should work fine. My friend has one on his system because his pressure was low like yours. Low pressure will take longer to make water and it also effects the membrane life from what I've read. airwaterice.com sells them and they are great with customer service, aske them what they think.
If you have town/city water with a TDS of 131 that's good have you look into using Kold-Steril water instead? Cost more up front but will save you money in the long run. Up to 5000 gallons before you have to change filters. I use it on my FO tank and have not had any unwanted algae problems.
I still use a ro/di on my 125 reef..... Not ready to change that yet.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:57 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I did not know anything about Kold-Sterile? Might check it out.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:36 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 17
I had a booster pump on my system and it worked great. It was a 12 volt system that boost the pressure to 80psi. The problem I had that it didnt have a cut off system that would stop it when the tank is full. I would have to unplug it. One night I went to bed with it still connected and I bunned it up. I havent replaced it and now just use the house pressure. It works but after the 4 gal tank is empty it just trickles out.
__________________
snookface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:32 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Well, I bought an RO/DI last night on ebay. Did not think I would get it but I did. I was hoping to hear back from Aquasafe about there booster pumps but I bid anyway.

Anyone ever use the booster aqusafe sells? I ended up getting the 100GPD model but the booster is only rated at 50 GPD.

Snookface: I read somewhere on here that there is a way to set a pressure switch to turn the power off the booster pump. Could you put in on a timer?

Any more info on pumps would be great.
__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 06:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
You need to get the pump that is for 100 pgd, they sell a switch that shuts off the pump when the bucket is full. I think its around $30 for the switch, worth the extra $$$$
Check around on the net for the pump for the 100 gpd units. I think airwaterice.com sells them.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is an air pump really needed? Titus Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 08-14-2005 10:45 PM
RO/DI System Booster Pump Users... OneBowl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-09-2005 09:54 AM
Aquatec booster pump pressure switch ellisz DIY Projects 6 08-12-2004 04:25 PM
RO Booster pump auto shut off ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 07-07-2004 06:41 PM
Booster pump and RO/DI unit reefrunner69 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-02-2004 08:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.