Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2007, 05:43 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisz
Quote:
Any RO/DI unit can produce water that has a 0 reading for TDS. The difference is how much the cheaper units are going to cost you in the long run in replacement DI cartridges.
That is what I figured. Its just that some people really bad mouth these Ebay units. I have replaced my DI unit 3 times in about 2.5 yrs. Sometimes just because it seemed like it had been awhile. My TDS readings were still below 5.
When was the last time your TDS meter was calibrated? Three changes in 2.5 years is very little and makes me suspicious of your reading.
__________________

__________________
http://www.macna2007.com
Steven Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:32 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Well, it was calibrated when I bought it and that was the last time. I don't have any of the calibration solution on hand though. Maybe I will have a friend try theirs out and compare.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 09:32 AM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Well, with the new 180, I changed out all my white canister to clear canisters and added a dual DI system to replace my single. I also put in a new dual TDS meter.

Weird thing is that my incoming TDS is 205 and the TDS before the DI stage is 0. This is with a 3 yr old membrane and carbon/sediment filters that are about 3 months old. I tested the after DI water with my old TDS meter and it came up as 1.

I had also tested my TDS meter with a friends TDS meter on his RO/DI unit. It checked out on his system too.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 11:44 AM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Can't you calibrate them with distilled water? I'll have to look at my instructions to double check.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 07:06 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Pro
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisz
Quote:
Any RO/DI unit can produce water that has a 0 reading for TDS. The difference is how much the cheaper units are going to cost you in the long run in replacement DI cartridges.
That is what I figured. Its just that some people really bad mouth these Ebay units. I have replaced my DI unit 3 times in about 2.5 yrs. Sometimes just because it seemed like it had been awhile. My TDS readings were still below 5.
When was the last time your TDS meter was calibrated? Three changes in 2.5 years is very little and makes me suspicious of your reading.
I can tell you that I have had resin last over a year with only showing a 2-3 on the TDS meter (I have 2 meters). I am running dual DI's and a booster pump so this helps it last longer. Before the booster I would get less then 3 months from my resin.
My buddy also gets about a year from his resin w/a booster pump.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 11:09 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
I've been running the same FilterDirect (off of ebay) unit for 3 years without changing a thing. It is still running 0-1 TDS. I was quite concerned that it would go so long and still produce zero TDS water, so I've validated it against others and have come up with a very small margin of error.

Might be time to dig up some calibration fluid just to triple check it, but I'm not having any algae issues either so I have a great deal of faith in the numbers!
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.