Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-16-2005, 04:26 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
The output will be a trickle no matter what. Do you know what pressure you are seeing before the unit? You really need about 45-60 psi and to get the quoted GPD, the water has to be a certain temp. Some people actually mix hot water into the RO input because most tap water it too cold. The TDS of your tap water will play a factor as well.

I bought mine from Aquasafe Canada and they have a write up in the auction about varying outputs. I used a booster pump at my previous house just to get a trickle of water out.

If I get home after work and leave my RO/DI on over night, I can fill a 44 gal trash can. Mine is rated at 110 GPD, I think. Not quite the mark but I figure I am close.

It is disheartening to hook one up for the first time to see that little bit of water come out the output! 8O
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 04:31 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I am starting to think that it is a water pressure issue. When you first open the valve, the water comes shooting out, then quickly goes to a trickle. I am going to go to HD later and get a gauge to measure the pressure.

Are the booster pumps expensive?
__________________

__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 04:44 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
I had a major pressure issue because I am on well water, I jacked up my well pump some and I've been about 30 gallons a day since with my AquaFX Baracudda. 30 gallons a day is plenty for my needs.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 05:10 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
The booster pump I got was between $50-80. It is the smaller of 2 that I know of.

The pressure issue when you first open valve is normal. Your system probably has an auto shut off which allows pressure to build after you close the valve. When you open it again, you have that build up to release.

At my last house, I knew the water pressure was low but I did not realize it was that low. The norm for the water company 40-45 but I was at 25-30 psi. Everyone in my neighborhood complained but nothing was done. My new subdivision has a lot of pressure but not too many houses built yet

HTH
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 06:16 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I bought a gauge from HD to check the pressure at the faucet where the unit was connected, and got a reading of 60 psi. That is well over the minimum for the system. It seems like I should I be getting more than 30 GPD with 60 psi.

Could there be something wrong with the RO membrane?
__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 03:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I have been in contact with the seller via email. he was very helpful, suggesting several potential problems. In the end, he feels that the problem is in the RO membrane. He said to mail it back to him and he will send me another one.

Worst case scenario I get about 20 gallons per day and have to plan ahead. I am going to try and find some type of storage container today to hold about 40 gallons. That should give me a little more freedom incase of the need for an emergency water change and to cover my topoffs.
__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 03:59 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 158
What i do is keep one or two 5 gallon jugs always full of water, and about 3 days before i want to do a water change i fill my 34 gallon trash can and mix all the salt and throw my heater and a powerhead in it for a day or two then go to town. good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
^_^
SirLight1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 04:21 PM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
44 gal Rubbermaid Brute trash can. Not the cheapest trash can but it is a food grade container. I got mine at Home Depot.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 09:34 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I had thought about using a rubermaid container or trash can, but with 2 small kids and no real good place to store it, I need a container with a more secure lid/seel.

I found a place that sells 15 gallon food grade water storage barrels for $24.95 new or $15.95 reconditioned.

I would like to keep an extra 15 gallons on hand for an emergency water change if necessary, then use that 15 gallons for my water change and refill the 15 gallon barrel.

How long can you safely store RO/DI the water?
__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 11:25 PM   #20
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I always have water in mine. Not sure if there is a shelf life or not though.

I have my container in my basement but I don't think my kids could get in it. They are only 2 and 4 though. Lid is tough for me to get off sometimes
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow meter for high flow canister? TankGirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-30-2009 03:55 PM
Single strong flow PH vs. Two with less flow tdthrows Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-27-2006 03:31 PM
Water flow problem faerykisses General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-22-2006 07:43 PM
Flow problem and Live Rock ? JrMafia90 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 01-18-2006 06:21 PM
Too much flow?? MYTY1705 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-10-2006 04:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.