Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-16-2005, 12:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
RO/Di Flow problem

I have connected my RO/DI system, but I am getting a very slow water output. The system is rated for 125 GPD. I have good flow going into the system and after the first 3 stages, but it slows considerably after the RO unit. I figured conservatively that I should at least get an output or 4 gallons per hour, but I am not getting anywhere close to that.

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 12:46 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I thought the same thing when I first got my unit...the output is measured literally in drops. waste water is extensive. My first thought is that if you have the required pressure to the unit, it is probably putting out what it should be. Mine is a 100 gpd unit and I get about half of that.

We were told that the GPD were under perfect circumstances and that no one has those. ALot depends on the type of water you have as well. I honestly do not understand it all, but I was told the same thing by several different companies.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 12:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 80
SpEd,
I am having the exact same problem. I was getting about 5-10 GPD, for a unit that was supposed to give me 100 GPD.

What company did you buy from? Hope it wasn't the same as mine. I'm gonna complain to them soon.

May be a faulty auto shut-off valve, which is the little regulator thingy that has about 4 tubes going into it... I'll let you know how my problem is resolved, if it is.
__________________
David03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 01:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I ordered mine off of ebay. I have been playing with the plumbing and I am getting very good water flow into the RO module, but poor after the module to the fresh water. When I open the drain all the way, the flow out of that is good also.

Does it take a while for the RO module to get broken in?

I am running a test right now to see how much water it produces in a 15 minute period. I will update when the test is over.
__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 01:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to nguyen27 Send a message via Yahoo to nguyen27
There shouldn't be a broke in period for the RO system, the membrane is the one determine your flow rate, other other filters are just the extra hand, make be one of you want to test your water TDS level before and after, and also makesure all the line a connect probably, (which probably already are) If your output is running all day long even after it fill the reserve tank, it may be the fault valve.
__________________
nguyen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 02:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I only getting about 1.5 gallons an hour. That works out to only 36 gallons a day for a 125 gpd rated system.

Something is not right. I will continue to play around with it and see what I can do, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 02:22 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Have you contacted the seller? They probably get this question all the time and may be able to point you in the right direction faster than the rest of us. You're right, 36gpd is unacceptable for a 125 unit (or a 75 unit, for that matter)!
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 02:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
I just emailed the seller and am waiting to hear back. I will keep you posted.
__________________
75 gallon fish/reef - 50 lbs liverock - 4 VHO lighting (2 acentic) - 2 Eheim canisters
2 clowns - 1 damsels - 1 royal gramma - 1 coral banded shrimp - 1 cleaner shimp - 1 emerald crabs - assortment of snails and hermits - sandsifting star - orange starfish - 1 hammer - 1 bubble - 1 toadstool - 1 small colony of zoos
SpEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 03:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to nguyen27 Send a message via Yahoo to nguyen27
Well, for the 100GPD, you probably got about 1/2 of it depending mostly on the water pressure coming from your tap/well water, my rate as 85gpd and I I'm getting around 30 at max.
__________________
nguyen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 03:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 158
maybe including waste water and purified water it is 125GPD. No where did it say 125 gallons of RO/DI water a day.
__________________

__________________
^_^
SirLight1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow meter for high flow canister? TankGirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-30-2009 03:55 PM
Single strong flow PH vs. Two with less flow tdthrows Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-27-2006 03:31 PM
Water flow problem faerykisses General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 02-22-2006 07:43 PM
Flow problem and Live Rock ? JrMafia90 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 01-18-2006 06:21 PM
Too much flow?? MYTY1705 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-10-2006 04:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.