Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2012, 03:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 371
RO/DI question

My RO/DI system is reading 3 tds and I was reading about how to know which filters need replaced, and read somewhere to test the water after the RO membrane, but before the DI resin. I'm showing 7 TDS after the RO, and 3 after RO/DI.

Should I replace all filters, or any one(s) in particular? Is 3 TDS acceptable? I know 0 is the goal, but can those 3 little parts per million really make that much difference?

I'm ashamed to admit this, but the system is a year old and I've never changed the filters...
__________________

__________________
tjm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:05 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
What is the TDS of the water before it goes into the filter? You want the water to be around 95% "cleaner" after the RO than it was coming in.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:20 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,170
Mine reads 96 befor ro/Di and zero after if u are getting any tds after it runs through u need new filters
__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 06:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccCapt View Post
What is the TDS of the water before it goes into the filter? You want the water to be around 95% "cleaner" after the RO than it was coming in.
150-160, which is around that 95%. I ordered a second DI cartridge last night and will buy some resin from the LFS to change out the resin in the cartridge I already have. Do you think this would bring me down to 0?
__________________
tjm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,170
Well I know the one I got from bulk reef. Brings me to 0 and from what I read if its not at 0 u need new filters
__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:15 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
If you havnt changed filters in year change them. Should change RO filters every 6 months. The DI you should change when you get tds reading of 1ppm out of DI. So change all filters. Membrane still good after year

As far as RO reading it may not take it down to 0ppm which is ok. My water from tap had low tds at 53ppm. So my RO is also 0ppm. But tap can be high tds and you may have a reading. I run off water before I run into DI. I have a few valves to divert it to drain line because you can get tds spike when first start up system. By running it for few it will lengthen life of DI canister. I am about 15 months and still reading 0ppm. When i run off for few minutes. Sometimes I get spike to 35 ppm then will slowly go back. I then re route back up DI when hits 5ppm. Then start making fresh water for tank.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:21 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjm80

150-160, which is around that 95%. I ordered a second DI cartridge last night and will buy some resin from the LFS to change out the resin in the cartridge I already have. Do you think this would bring me down to 0?
No need to have 2 DI canisters. Just change 3 stages of RO and get new DI resin. You should get your 0ppm
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpfaff77

No need to have 2 DI canisters. Just change 3 stages of RO and get new DI resin. You should get your 0ppm
The first pre filter and both carbon blocks, right?
__________________
tjm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjm80

The first pre filter and both carbon blocks, right?
Yes. Pre filter. 2 carbon blocks and new DI resin.
__________________

__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Challenging Question on Bacteria . . . Wy Renegade Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 66 01-29-2012 08:56 AM
RO/DI question? Squidy07 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 32 01-29-2012 04:20 AM
RO/DI Question! Freshnoob1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-20-2012 09:33 PM
RO/Di Water Question gerridee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-22-2011 08:41 AM
RO/DI question rdnelson99 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 08-13-2011 11:10 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.