Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-26-2009, 03:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
RO/DI water

hello i just have a question about ro/di water i know it removes chlorine but do i have to use dechlorine products or i dont have to worry about it. thanks for your help ill post the pics of it when i get home
__________________

__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
No, you shouldn't need dechlorine in RO/DI water. The salt mix will add all your trace minerals. You might want to check if your city water is cleaned with chlorine or chloramines. With chloramines you might want to have a carbon prefilter. I don't think alot of places use the chloramines though.
__________________

__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:16 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Agreed, if you get 0 TDS with your RODI filter, you don't need to add anything to the water except salt.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
the ro/di unit that i have has this 6 stages ill give them in order stage one 5 micron pp sediment filter stage 2 granular activated carbon. filter stage 3 5-micron coconut carbon block filter stage 4 tfc (made in usa) 100 gpd ro membrane stage 5 di (de-ionized) filter and stage 6 in line granular activater carbon filter
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
thanks, it shouldnt i just got it 2 1/2 weeks ago and its brand new but im going to buy a tds meter and if i buy it how do u put it
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
This unit sounds like a regular drinking water unit. I say that because there is a carbon stage after the DI resin. For aquarium water you don't need the last carbon stage, this is used to help with the taste of RO/DI water for drinking.

Are you getting a dual TDS meter? Dual meter are installed with 1 input before DI resin and 1 input after DI resin. This will tell you the resins performance.

"If it was me" I would put a T before the DI resin. From the off shoot of the T I would put a valve then hook up the carbon stage to that for filtered RO drinking water. "Just me not saying you really need to do it."
__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
well im actuall looking for a tds meter but im no sure what kind should i get and the guy that sold it to me said that it can work as drinking water aswell for fish tanks
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 05:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
This is what I have. There is also a video of different types on the page.

DM-1: IN-LINE DUAL TDS MONITOR Bulk Reef Supply
__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 05:21 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,249
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
cool thanks do they fit on any kind of ro/di systems
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 05:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
They are inline, you have to cut the tubing and plug them in.
__________________

__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.