Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-20-2011, 08:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gerridee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harveys Lake, Pa.
Posts: 35
RO/Di Water Question

I have a Ro/di water filter purchased and on its way to me..Im Realizing illl have to correct the waters Ph since my well water has a low Ph at 5.7.Anything else i need to know?? Thanks
__________________

__________________
gerridee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:50 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Any RO water needs to be buffered. RO/DI water should have a TDS of 0, this means it doesn't have ANYTHING in it, it won't even conduct electricity. What are you using the water for?
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gerridee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harveys Lake, Pa.
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Any RO water needs to be buffered. RO/DI water should have a TDS of 0, this means it doesn't have ANYTHING in it, it won't even conduct electricity. What are you using the water for?
Reef tank 75 gal
__________________
gerridee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:58 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
When you add the salt mix it will buffer it. After you make a batch of it then check your PH. It should be OK but if not they make a buffer for it.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gerridee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harveys Lake, Pa.
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
When you add the salt mix it will buffer it. After you make a batch of it then check your PH. It should be OK but if not they make a buffer for it.
Thanks, That helps alot....and for top off water, just correct the PH.Correct?
__________________
gerridee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
I use pure RO/DI to top off, the check & buffer the tank as a whole.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
gerridee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harveys Lake, Pa.
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeYQM View Post
I use pure RO/DI to top off, the check & buffer the tank as a whole.
Thanks but my RoDi water will have a low PH. from my wellwater at 5.7. i need to buffer before adding to tank
__________________
gerridee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:26 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
At the beginning I would just add the water and then check your PH of the tank water. If you see it falling then maybe add the buffer. I think you should be OK though. Remember the SW already in the tank will be buffered because of the salt mix. Add some FW and check your PH about 6 or 8 hours later.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
MikeYQM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 489
How often & how much volume do you top up?

In my case, it's such a small percentage of the overall volume that the buffering capacity of the water left in the tank keeps it stable at 8.3.
__________________
MikeYQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:44 PM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
You top off as needed, to keep the tank full from evaporation.

It doesn't matter what the source water is, hard or soft after RO/DI it will be as soft as possible, no matter where it starts. As stated already, a proper salt mix will adjust pH/KH, Ca, Mg, etc.

You do not need to alter top off water. It replaces evaporation which is only water, nothing else leaves. So it should be nothing but water going back in.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless Cycle Log/Rebuild - Take II librarygirl Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 769 09-24-2011 01:56 PM
Easier water changes? ozorowsky DIY Projects 9 08-28-2011 09:10 AM
Water question Ickletas Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-25-2011 01:38 PM
Cold water intertidal pool aquarium Waldo Member Introductions 0 07-31-2011 08:59 AM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.