Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2004, 10:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cartersville Georgia
Posts: 159
RO water question

Hello Guys, I have a very dumb question to ask. If I go out a buy a RO water filtration thing, where will it need to be to make my water ? I mean am I gonna have to give up the kitchen sink for it or hook it to outdoor faucet, i'm kinda clueless as to what I need to do to have RO water all the time. Sorry to be so dumb about this but until I started thinking about a Saltwater tank and reading the AA forums, I had never heard of it. Thanks in Advance, your friend Mike
__________________

__________________
Gotta Love the Little Wet Pets.
kenor33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 11:07 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fl
Posts: 68
you can just go to win dixie there in cartersville or publix and get r/o water for .25 cents a gallon
__________________

__________________
jr5018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 11:10 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Many add them under the kitchen sink directly fed by the waterline and draining into the drain line, this does not tie up a sink and you have it stored and ready for use when needed. FWIW, I ran an RO/DI unit on an outside faucet for years, worked fine, just keep it shaded to prevent algae growth and keep the unit cool.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 04:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 840
I have mine in my laundry room...you can pretty much put it anywhere you want that has a cold water line and a drain line
__________________
"I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully."
‚ÄĒSaginaw, Mich., Sept. 29, 2000
ClamKnuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 08:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Where does the "filtered" RO water go that these RO units produce? Do you have to keep a bucket or small garabge can for it to output the water? And how would one get it to stop from overflowing all over the floor when the storage container gets full?

Or do most people just connect it up the day before a water change and let it output 10 or so gallons (which I would imagine takes 3-5 hours).

Sorry for the dumb question... just always wondered. Thanks!
__________________
ASpec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 08:36 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Mine is connected to my cold water line in my kitchen, and to a pressurized storage tank with a faucet adapter. The RO unit has an auto shut off, so when there is back pressure the water flowing to the unit stops. When making RO DI, I simply keep an eye on it and make it in small containers in the sink, in case I forget.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 10:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
I simply keep an eye on it and make it in small containers in the sink, in case I forget.


lol that happens to me all the time !! ya think by my girl friends reaction i dumped 10 gallons of oil on the floor
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 11:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cartersville Georgia
Posts: 159
Thanks for the responses guys, I have a spare bathroom upstairs that I could possibly turn into my water-making room( surely the wife wouldn't be TO PISSED) I wanted to check on this because I have Fresh-water tanks now and salt-water is coming soon I hope and figure they would all benefit from the RO water.
__________________
Gotta Love the Little Wet Pets.
kenor33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 12:36 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
Run the output into a bottle, sitting in the tub or shower. That way, when you forget to stop it (and you will)...it only overflows down the drain.

Oops...gotta go...I hear water running.
__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on RO water versus tap water mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 11-14-2006 12:18 AM
Water question............... myles Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-12-2006 12:25 AM
Adding water after water change-- different question joedarat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-04-2004 06:37 PM
Mixing water for water change question. TygGer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 06-22-2004 01:18 AM
Quick question on water clarity with salt water tanks ... jen-213 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 06-02-2003 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.