Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2004, 01:35 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 428
Send a message via AIM to nodoubt471
you should rinse it in SW, just use change water when you do a water change, this will help preserve all the bacteria, if worst comes to worst decholrinated tap water works in a pinch.
__________________

__________________
~*Kate*~
nodoubt471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 02:50 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
So, would you put the wool covering the whole of the top media basket? The rowaphos is in the top basket, surrounded by the balls, and the carbon in the bottom basket surrounded by the balls.

Will the wool slow my filter down or anything?

By the way, when I put my carbon in, I'll have to remove some balls for it to fit. How many balls do you think I can safely remove before bacteria start to suffer etc.?
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 04:04 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Anyone?

Just got the wool - I guess the little fibres that come off it aren't harmful?

Can anyone answer my other question(s)? :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 04:45 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 272
Quote:
So, would you put the wool covering the whole of the top media basket? The rowaphos is in the top basket, surrounded by the balls, and the carbon in the bottom basket surrounded by the balls.
In my Ehiem I have a large particle filter pad in the bottom basket, 2 layers of filter then rowaphos & 2 layers of filter in the middle basket & then 2 layers of wool then Carbon then 2 more layers of filter in the top basket

Quote:
Will the wool slow my filter down or anything?
Doesn't /seem/ to slow mine down, I supposed if it became cloaked it might do, but I run mine 3 weeks at a time without problems?

Quote:
By the way, when I put my carbon in, I'll have to remove some balls for it to fit. How many balls do you think I can safely remove before bacteria start to suffer etc.?
Sorry can't answer that as I don't use balls

Quote:
Just got the wool - I guess the little fibres that come off it aren't harmful?
Not noticed that with the stuff I use?

Quote:
Can anyone answer my other question(s)?
Any more for any more?

Cheers Shelton.
__________________
30gal tank, 20kgs Fiji + 4kgs Madagascan LR, bare bottom, 2 x Maxijets 900, AquaC Remora skimmer, 10W D&D UV using a spraybar on surface for return,Maxijet 600 + spraybar behind LR, Ecco 2234 running RowaPhos/GAC, 150w visitherm.
Custom Built lid; 2 x T5 megatwin (4x39W Aquablue+); 4 moonlights.

IKS with temp & PH probes, controlling lights,heat & cooling fans.


Percula Clown; Banggai Cardinal; Firefish; Mandarin
2 Cleaner Shrimps; 3 Peppermint Shrimps; 1 Blood Shrimp
1 Large Feather Duster; 1 Hard Tube Coco Worm; Yellow Cucumber.
6 Red Legged Hermits; 1 Green Emerald Crab; 16 Dwarf Blue Leg Hermits; 3 Zebra Hermits; 3 Popsock Hermits
22 Turbo/Astrae Snails; 20 IO Snails
Shultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2004, 05:08 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Cheers Shelton, I guess mine's different with it using the balls in the baskets.

I guess the wool is meant to go first, so it should be placed over the whole of the first (top) basket?

And, at the moment the bag I have my rowaphos in (in the top basket) is small, so it sits in the centre of the basket with the balls around it. I guess this means all the water won't actually go through the rowaphos?

Should stuff like rowaphos/carbon etc. really be covering the WHOLE basket, so that all water has to pass through it?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 01:18 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
As I'm only running my carbon for 4-7 days a month, I think I'll just put the wool over the top basket while the carbon's in, then take it out, rinse it in tap water, let it dry out, then put it back in with the new carbon the next month...

That ok?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 02:53 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:19 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 56
Mark,

You may find this helpful:

http://www.eheim.com/Filter_massen.c...er=Gesamtliste

Although, yours only has two trays as I understand. This is for my Eheim 2228.

I have my Rowaphos between the fine filter and substrat on the final (top) tray. I keep my carbon in the internal filter on my Jewel tank, but I dont see any reason why you cant put your carbon in the same place as I put my Rowaphos...
__________________
stevelikesfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 04:00 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Thanks Steve - I'm planning on putting a layer of wool (not the official filter pad) right at the very top of the top basket (which has a small bag of rowaphos in the middle of it with the balls around); then, the carbon in a bag in the 2nd (bottom) basket, with the balls also around this.

Do you agree?

Is it ok to rinse the wool in tapwater and let it dry before using again? Or should I be using SW?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 04:14 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ontario
Posts: 106
carbon?

i'v never used carbon in my salt tank. I have no corals, but an enenime, and fish, and other inverts. I'v just receintly even heard of using carbon in a marine tank. Can anyone tell me the purpose of carbon? I never use it in my freshwater tanks either, inless i'v treated with a medication, then i will use it to rid the tank of the chemicals i have used.
Is it necessary to use Carbon? Is it the same carbon that you would use in a freshwater tank?
__________________

__________________
still waiting for godot
supafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 55 is up and running motherspice Show Off/Photography 1 10-09-2008 07:34 PM
To carbon or not to carbon, that is the question. Caincando1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 07-21-2006 01:18 PM
Okay, QT is up and running . . . toddwess Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-05-2003 11:20 PM
Running Carbon to Remove Medicine An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 08-29-2003 01:09 AM
Running Activated Carbon two11devan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-16-2003 01:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.