Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2006, 12:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 334
Running my filters with all medias during cycling?

Currently I am cycling my tank with my 2 canister filters which are all I am going to use as filtration in future.

My question is: Is it alright if I have all the media running in the canister filter right now? I currently running the whole thing in the filter: Activated carbon, filter foam/sponge, ceramic rings, etc etc which came with the filters I bought.

The reason I am doing this is because I am not only cycling the tank I am also cycling my filters. I thought I also need to get the bacteria to establish in the filters as well. Am I doing the right thing? Or I shouldn’t have include the activated carbon just the ceramic rings and the foam will do?
__________________

__________________
weekf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 04:20 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to Speakerman Send a message via AIM to Speakerman Send a message via MSN to Speakerman Send a message via Yahoo to Speakerman
I would take the Carbon out for now. It won't hurt anything...but it's a waste IMO. There's no need to have carbon when cycling. But yes, when cycling, use all the media you have or that you are going to use. You can also add later, but once you get it cycled, and you take media out, your going to see another cycle.
__________________

__________________
Speakerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 05:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 334
The carbon has already been there for 3 days since day one if I take it out now would I still be able to use it later? So I just rinse it with tap water or tank water? Thanks for you advice.
__________________
weekf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 09:52 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekf
The carbon has already been there for 3 days since day one if I take it out now would I still be able to use it later? So I just rinse it with tap water or tank water? Thanks for you advice.
In that case, I would just leave it in. I haven't had carbon in my filter for three months.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping filters while cycling Etunes Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 09-20-2009 01:59 AM
Running dual HOB filters, ideas for placement? papa_bear_21 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-29-2007 05:23 PM
running two filters Yao Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 10-27-2005 01:48 AM
Should I be running a Diatom XL Filter while cycling? RubixCube Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 12-01-2003 11:47 PM
up and running!! Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 3 03-26-2003 08:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.