Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2014, 02:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
Running ro/di over night?

Do you think I'm alright running my 50 gallon per day ro/di unit into a 32 gallon barrel until 6 am?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 03:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
Hahaha.
I almost got a divorce over that when I was filling my tank, (even set alarm every two hours).

Flooded my living room. Hard wood floors saved me.

My rodi makes 5G in an hour. (75gpd).





Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 04:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hagerstown, Md
Posts: 684
I run mine overnight regularly. You can always get a float valve for it so it will shut off once it reaches the desired level.
__________________
Qube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 10:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
That's really funny because my girlfriend fought with me about it for almost an hour.. She won probably for the best because I have laminate floors and they would be toast


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 01:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
I stick mine in the bath so at least of it runs over, it's in the bath!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 01:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
But then il have 32 gallons of water in my tub.. My water changes are between 5 and 10 gallons a week


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 05:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Animal-Chin's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,315
Then why not get some blue plastic water jugs from the grocery store and re use those? they are 5 gallons each and fit in your sink. Easy to handle and not to heavy. All I ever use...
__________________
Animal-Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 06:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Animal-Chin View Post
Then why not get some blue plastic water jugs from the grocery store and re use those? they are 5 gallons each and fit in your sink. Easy to handle and not to heavy. All I ever use...

+1.
I thought you were just filling a tank.

If your going to do it monthly, you'll want, as mentioned above, a float or some sort of relay.

Possibly a timer set up after you calculate your true GPD & consistent PSI?



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 06:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
I thought you were filling Jerry cans!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 07:21 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
It's a big brute barrel I was using 5 gallon jugs but now I have this big barrel that I'm going to plumb into the aquarium for water changes that way all I'm doing is mixing my salt


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
night, rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Tank over heated 90+ degrees over night plz help!! DMichael Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-02-2012 10:40 PM
Green and red algae over running my tank Rejordan73 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 05-18-2012 12:17 PM
Protein Skimmer Running Over bmdub Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 06-03-2011 11:19 PM
Running a Skimmer only at night? mrg02d Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-25-2010 04:12 PM
Anyone running 65W of CF over a 29 gallon? gfink Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-08-2006 05:53 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.