Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 07-16-2004, 06:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,869
Send a message via AIM to jamal-188
Safe to wire ballast like this...?

Probably picking up a URI electronic ballast at work this week(got a good deal on one). Anyway, it says it can operate up to 4 bulbs that are no more than 16ft in length. I already have two 6ft tubes but my tank is 7ft, so can I add two 2 foot tubes or will the ballast freak out if it's running different sized tubes? Wouuld I be better running four 3ft or four 4ft tubes?

jamal-188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2004, 10:50 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
It will operate different size tubes OK. Electronic ballasts are not so picky about the length of the bulbs and I have used Icecap ballasts in a manner similar to what you are talking about...I've even had one ballast running a couple of VHO's and a couple of PC's at the same time. One thing I should mention though...at least in the case of the Icecap ballast...your ballast is probably rated for up to 440 watts total output. With a 2x160w and a 2x75w running, you're pulling 470 watts. Although I expect the ballast would light them all OK, I think it might generate extra heat in the ballast and may also shorten usable bulb life a bit. JMHO.
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote

ballast, safe

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to wire 2 float switches?? lightemup619 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-30-2009 01:02 PM
wire location for lights woody General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-03-2006 10:22 PM
anyone ever wire a square pin PC ? kidkameleon3 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 08-02-2004 06:10 PM
Ground wire needed? Moe36 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-05-2004 06:20 PM
How to wire MH reflector to ballast? jamal-188 DIY Projects 4 11-08-2003 11:54 AM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.