Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-07-2006, 11:36 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
Salt mixing advice/warning: don't make my mistake

I have been making the same mistake over and over, thinking I was being clever.

I was mixing my SW overly salty and then adding RODI just before adding to the tank to get the sg right.

This lets me make a 6g water change in a 5g bucket. also my rodi pressure tank is 2.5g which means I don't have 5g rodi on tap at any one time. So I'd add 2.5g with 5-6g worth of salt, and then add more rodi the next day

the mistake is that if you don't have enough RODI, the additives to the salt (like calcium) will precipitate out. I have a lot of it stuck to the bucket/powerhead/heater. This drops the PH a LOT!

Don't do this!
__________________

__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 01:57 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Good advice jaiden That extra gal isn’t going to affect much anyways
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 02:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
mostly it was saving me time because I could fill the bucket halfway and then dump in the salt, and then add the other 2.5g the next day when the water was ready. I tested SG when I was done, but didn't notice my error until I tested PH.

now I have to wait an extra day between WC's. I really need a bigger reservoir and a pump, but I don't have the space, and I don't want to drill my floor.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 04:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
Why not just put a float valve on your bucket and put a small gate valve on the RO line. Then when you want to do your WC, you just open the valve a day before and let the tub fill up to the desired amount, mix your salt in, warm and wait.
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 10:08 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
if you're having trouble keeping enough waterchange water on hand you can also use a large rubbermaid storage container or even _new_ garbage can. keep that full of new SW in the basement/garage and keep it mixed to the right SG. and when you need to do a water change just siphon out however much you need and do the change. Keeping a large volume always mixed might be easier and save you even more time. just drop a small PH in the bottom of the container to keep it moving and keep it covered to keep anything from getting in it.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 11:42 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyZ
just drop a small PH in the bottom of the container to keep it moving and keep it covered to keep anything from getting in it.
I use a 30 gal trashcan on wheels and just keep adding ro/do and salt as I use it so it’s ready to go.

I keep a Mag 5 pump and heater in it but I don’t keep it covered though since that can crash your ph due to carbon dioxide build up.

It came in handy last year when I had a slight nh3 spike due to 4 snails dieing on me at one time. Plus since you are dealing with a larger quantity of water you have less possible fluctuations when doing your pwc.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mixing, salt

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
warning/Made a Big mistake with sick betta Annie/Aggie Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 06-18-2006 02:40 PM
Did I make a mistake? reefbound Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 05-22-2006 05:59 PM
WARNING re AP liquid test kit: Don't make this mistake bosk1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 12-16-2005 11:44 PM
Did I just make a mistake? Shannono Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 04-30-2005 12:58 PM
Please respond before we make a mistake! Electrobes DIY Projects 5 11-30-2003 12:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.