Saltwater aquarium creatures that you dont wanna mess with?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

summitxho

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
The more reading I do, the more I find out about the suprising defensive mechanisms some of these saltwater aquarium creatures have, such as the thumb splitting mantis shrimp, stinging lion fish, spearing mantis shrimp, and most suprisingly stinging bristle worms? I wonder what other sw critters has these traits to be forwarned of? As a complete newbie I do not want to stick my hand in to grab something to painfully find out that it can defend itself! I was wondering if some of the more experienced members would mind listing off a few of the common sw critters that you do not want to get to friendly with, and what they would do, and how much it would hurt (I am kinda facinated now) because if I had not been browsing through these forum pages, I would have never known to not just grab a bristle worm!

You forgot urchins. :D
When I first started I was scared to touch anything. Now I have no fear of reaching in and doing what I need to. That's not to say I shouldn't have any reservations. I've just been lucky thus far. :roll:

urchins sting too? 8O I hope to one day have a tank full of dangerous sea creatures, makes an interesting conversation point for sure. There must be alot of people on here that have had a run in with an aquarium creature, I wanna hear about em!

Stonefish and scorpionfish are venomous as well. Those two are very nasty.

I've had close calls with Lions, and Scorpions but so far I've been lucky. When I worked at Petco I had a co-worker stung by a lion, but he was fine. He was envenomated, but heat was added immediately so he was fine.