Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-30-2011, 03:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 40
Question Saltwater change question

I am a bit confused, I bought my 50 gal tank and the store that I bought it from sold me "saltwater" which I did not have to add any salt. Now that I want to do a water change, I have seen that almost evey article I read they buy the "RO/DI" and add the salt, should i buy the saltwater or should I buy the water and buy the salt and mix it together? Please help, thanks!
__________________

__________________
rnb62679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Either way is fine. Test the saltwater and ensure the parameters are correct.
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 40
Perfect, thanks. So do you think I have to purchase that bacteria bottle every time i do a water change?
__________________
rnb62679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
bacteria bottle? what are you adding or testing?
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 40
I believe its a bottle of bacteria which they said was to speed up the cycle. Then when I asked about water changes they mentioned that I would need one every time I changed the water but I have been reading and reaserching and some people say its not safe. Would I be safe just testing my parameters without that bottle?
__________________
rnb62679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Yes.... Never put anything in your tank you can't test for. What I mean by testing the saltwater is for pH and salinity. If you mix your own, you can control the salinity.
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 03:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NanoNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 28
All depends on what kinda of tank you have... Reef, Fish only, or Fish only with LR.

Unless you have a reef tank you could get by with just tap water and some type of salt mix of ur choice. It's nice to use RO or RODI water but it's not needed. Do your self and bank account a favor if it's not needed. Maybe take a water sample to a reputable SW store and have the test your tap for nitrates and phosphates.

And for this bacteria bottle lol, got to love fish stores... Lol. Drop it! Go for a natural cycle, it may be long but it's worth it. This hobby requires patience. Anything less brake your bank account.

Hope this helps
__________________
NanoNerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,325
You'll want to learn to mix your own saltwater. Buy an inexpensive refractometer to measure salinity accurately. Will also need a ph tester of some kind. These instruments will pay for themselves by saving hundreds of dollars in live stock. A RO/DI filter is inexpensive, a nice addition to the household and easy to use as well.

The bacteria is not needed after seeding the tank the first time, in fact if you used cultured live rock, the bacteria was not necessary.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Posts: 40
I will make sure I test the water before I add it into my tank thanks Kio707.....
I actually have fish and LR at the moment but thinking of getting some corals later on down the road. Yeah I will not buy that bottle which is $35.00 a pop, maybe that is why they keep mentioning it lol. Thanks for all the help, very helpful tips.
__________________
rnb62679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
There is a RO/DI portable system on craigslist for 69.
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, salt, saltwater

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PWC and Prime Mumma.of.two Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 75 08-12-2011 01:50 AM
Water change question Meave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-09-2011 01:48 AM
Saltwater Tank Dream/Journey Hatterz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-15-2011 11:40 PM
Water change question Sabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 07-10-2011 10:41 PM
Max pH Change at Water Change tlkng1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 06-25-2011 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.