Saltwater tank at college?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zmckenzie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I would first just like to say that I am new at saltwater Aquariums. I am a college student. A couple of my residents have saltwater aquariums and now I myself would like to get/start one. I have a few questions.

1. If I start the aquarium over my summer break (3 months), will I be able to move the tank back to school (2 hours away) without loosing that 3 months of cycling, or will it be like starting completely over?

2. I was looking at getting a 25 or maybe 29 gallon tank with an eclipse hood. (allowed 20 gallons in hall but I am an RA) Do I really need to buy all live rock, or can I do half and half? I read that after a few months the other rock will become alive as well. Also is it ok to go with smaller (5-7inch) rock in that size tank and pile it or is bigger better for the aquarium?

3. After the aquarium has cycled and is ready for some life, what is the general rule for number of fish? Is there a so many inches per gallon rule? And does this rule just apply to fish, or do you count inverts and coral as well?

Well I think that should be it for now. I have been doing a lot of reading. The whole process of just getting informed on saltwater aquariums has been fun, such as learning about the cycle, live rock, fish, inverts, coral, and everything else. Hopefully you can help me out and if you do thanks in advanced. If I have anymore question, I will just add it to this thread. Thanks again

zmckenzie

zmckenzie said:
1. If I start the aquarium over my summer break (3 months), will I be able to move the tank back to school (2 hours away) without loosing that 3 months of cycling, or will it be like starting completely over?