Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2007, 02:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 21
Sand depth

I'm starting a new tank. I'm going with sand this time. I currently have crusher coral as my subsrtate. What's a good depth I should make the sand. It's a 95 and It will be a reef tank?
__________________

__________________
FPandMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:13 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
It's really a personal preference. Are you planning on any kind sand sifters, like a pistol shrimp or sand sifting gobys? I have 2-3inches in my 55G and probably 4-5 inches in my 125G.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:14 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Most will suggest you stay away from the crushed coral. Stay with the sand IMO. Hard to clean the crushed coral and get all that waste from inside those pourous (sp?), holey pieces. After a while, it gets so that the nitrates are uncontrollabe so I've heard often.

I like about 2 1/2 to3 inches for reef.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:22 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Ray has a good point. I just assumed you were ditching the CC, but you know what it means when we assume... I used to have a CC/sand bed and I found it kind of a pain to vacuum and keep clean. Also, the sand will settle to the bottom and you will still end up with the CC on the top of the substrate, which can limit your clean up crew.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 21
I have CC now and I want to get rid of it. Maybe I'll put some in the wet/dry I'm hooking up to kick start it. It's been established for well over a year, the CC. I have heard that CC can collect alot of debris and cause problems thats why with the new tank I'm going sand. Plus I think it looks better. I will be getting some sort of sand sifter whether it's goby's or starfish. I'm going wet/dry right now because a friend of mine is selling me one for $100 bucks. It was hooked to his 125 Gal tank. He went fuge but I have spent so much on the tank and lighting to buy another tank, protein skimmer and pump to build a fuge would be around $250. I over spent as it is LOL But once you start thats it
__________________
FPandMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:59 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
That might be a decent idea, re-using the CC in your wet/dry. I would suggest, don't leave it out of your tank too long (you don't want the nitrifying bacteria to die), if you are trying to possibly boost your cycle, and I would put it in a mesh type bag for easy removal/rinsing in your old SW, during PWCs.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 21
Thats a good idea about the mesh bag. Makes sense if I want to remove it. I'm thinking of replacing the bio-balls with rubble rock. Kind of making it a wet/dry slash Fuge. What do you think on that. For $100 bucks it has a built in skimmer and pump. Or just keep it the way it was designed?
__________________
FPandMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:12 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Replacing the bio balls would be a great idea as well. I also forgot to mention, when you take out your CC, make sure you rinse it in your old SW, FW will possibly kill off the bacteria.
I am not too sure how a wet/dry vac works, or what brand it is, along with the skimmer and pump. You might want to post what brand/model they are and some one can help.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 21
I'm not quite sure myself how the wet/dry works. I have an idea. I have always had a closed canaster wet/dry (Enhiem). I'm planning on setting it up in my garage with just fresh water getting all the plumbing and wet/dry setup. Once I have everything right and No leaks. I'm going to switch out the 55 for the 95 on one LONG Saturday LOl I need to to set it up where if the power goes out it doesn't siphon back into the wetdry and start overflowing in the cabinet and on the floor. Thats my concern with getting rid of the closed Enhiem system. Flooding. I understand I need to drill a hole in the intake pipe where if that happened it would cut off the siphon. Does this sound right? I'll post the brand this evening. I need to look it up
__________________
FPandMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 04:00 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPandMM
I'm thinking of replacing the bio-balls with rubble rock.
Excellent idea
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand bed depth MikeO88 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 08-26-2006 03:01 PM
Sand Depth Calculator tripper Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 12-01-2004 09:52 PM
why not canister? sand depth jaiden Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 09-21-2004 11:59 PM
depth of sand? e-cat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-05-2003 10:25 PM
Sand Depth ConanTheLibraia Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-21-2003 10:35 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.