Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-28-2011, 05:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Sand question?

Just need a quick answer. I am upgrading my sump and am looking to add a larger dsb. About 50lbs of sand. I saw at home depo that they have a very fine grade sand, silica based I presume. Will this work or a dsb images of aragonite? Why or why not?
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
I don't know the answer to your question, sorry. But I do know super fine sand is a mess to deal with and silicons will fuel a diatom outbreak.
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
the super fine sand i would not mind using because it will be in the sump, and once it is rinsed of all the dust it will work like normal sand. the finer the sand the better for dsb's. also i will expect a diatom outbreak in the sump due to the new sand, but should all go away after a few weeks. i am more interested in if there is any long term affects of using it.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 08:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
I believe the sand you saw was pool filter sand which is a great type of sand to use. I kno alot of people here use it including my self and it has a bit of a weight to it so no worries about it getting sucked up into a pump or clouding up the water easily.
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I used pool filter sand in my 125g tank. took 250lbs of it but it's in there. LOL Just make sure you rinse the heck out of the sand, it will take some time for the water to run clean. It took me hours to rinse my sand but in the end I;m very pleased with it. It doesnt get sucked up easily and its not too big for sandsifters to sift. Not to mention it's way way cheaper than LFS sand.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 10:28 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Dboone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
I use silica sand and have had no problems with it at all it is very fine but I use a sump system on my 110 gal tank and I haven't had any get caught in the the sump
__________________
Dboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:50 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Well after a long night I ended up getting the new sump put in. I ended up using a rubber maid tub, and I must say this works amazing for a fuge. It took about 90 lbs of sand ($8 from home depo) to make a 6in sandbed so far everything looks amazing. The sand was super fine and after reading the bag turns out it is silica free win win for me lol
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:58 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Very nice! Did you end up using the #30 Sakrete sand? I really liked that more so than the play sand they have there. Glad everything worked out ok!
__________________
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
according to this-
Deep Sand Beds
too fine a sand is no good either.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:49 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
It dose not say. All it said was fine sand. I would say it is around sugar size Sand. I'm hoping I don't see any problems in the long run with this new set up. I did add a phosphate reactor to the system the same day. I guess we will just have to wait and see how everything turns out
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.