Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-26-2012, 05:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Scared Of Overflowing A Sump!!

Hi I'm a newbie here and love the site!! I have a 46 gallon bow front aquarium and I really want a sump but I am terrified of the thought of it overflowing on my floor. I am on the 3rd floor apartment and don't wanna mess up the floor down stairs. I plan on using a eshopps overflow unit to a aqueon sump sitting under the stand. Is it a myth that they can overflow if the pump fails or the power goes out. I have a sea clear acrylic aquarium and it sucks cause the space is limited cause it only has a few cut outs for stuff. Am I just paranoid? Can someone give me some tips on how not to over flow the water? Also what size power heads should I be using on a 46 gallon bow front with 50 pounds of live rock and 60 pounds of live sand. Thanks!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG008.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	102990  

Old 06-26-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

+1 following along

Old 06-26-2012, 05:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Check valve
Old 06-26-2012, 06:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Sad but true it is not a myth that they can overflow..it will stop putting out water once the water level is below the output. Someone recommended to me an aqualifer but I have been unable to find anymore info on this. Home depot probably sells a valve for this but I haven't had to look.

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 06:48 PM   #5
Fish R friends, not food!